The Election

Hey readers,

As you all should know (and if you don’t know, where are living?  Underneath a rock in Antarctica??), the race for president ended and Obama won hands down over McCain.  I am so excited that so many people voted in this election!  You always hear about voters not caring and not bothering to go vote, so it’s nice not to hear that.  Or about how younger people don’t care about government. 

This was my second time voting.  The first time I voted by absentee ballot, and I think from here on out that’s the way I’m going to vote.  I told this to Amber yesterday and she was all like, but it’s more exciting if you vote in person!  Well, some people may agree, but I’ll give you a little taste of what I went through yesterday:

I walked up to my voting place, which I was happy to discover was only about a block away from my apartment.  It was actually a school gym, and so as I was walking up I thought that school had just gotten out (it was about 3:00 in the afternoon) as there were a bunch of kids standing around.  I got really nervous, because high school kids make me nervous (they made me nervous when I was in high school, and I don’t doubt that they will ever not make me nervous…too many hormones running rampant).  But then I realized they weren’t just standing around, they were standing in line (I thought they were waiting for a school bus, sue me).  And they weren’t high school kids.  They were Vanderbilt kids (you can always tell because they all seem to wear designer clothes and shoes and just look really expensive in general). 

So anyways, I got in line and proceeded to read from a book.  Then one of the volunteer guys came out asking for people who were in the -13 voting district.  Who even knows where their voter’s registration card is?  I have a tiny apartment and I have no idea where that thing went (I suspect it is in my car).  Needless to say, I had no idea what my voting district number was – wasn’t it enough that I knew where I was supposed to vote??  Anyways, this guy kept coming back every so often to take people to a different line.  Eventually I figured out that I was supposed to go with him because the line I was in was for Vandy kids who lived on campus.  So I was all like, yes! I get to cut in line – suck on that Commodores (Vandy)!

The line I got to go in was totally short and I got up to the first check in table about 5 minutes later.  But then guess what, I wasn’t in the -13 district.  Turns out I was in the -12 district, apparently the district that isn’t for Vandy kids OR the -13 district.  OK.  It took them a while to figure out that problem (my question is, why weren’t there 3 lines if there were 3 districts?  Why only 2 lines?  Hmm?), but they got me through to the next check in table.

Only there was no one at the -12 district table.  But it was right next to the Vandy kids table, so I grabbed the ledger that had -12 in it, flipped to my name and stood in line for the Vandy kid table.  When I got up to the front, the man sitting there asked, “I’m guessing you’re in the -12 district since you’re holding the ledger.”  No, really?  I actually just like to take things during an election just to cause general mayhem.  Well, that’s what I was thinking, but of course I just nodded.  But then he was like, let me get to these people first and then I’ll help you.  And then he made me move aside and he started helping the Vandy kids behind me.  What???  Why the HEdoublehockeysticks did I just stand in line?  It’s not like I was dodging out of my own line.  There was no freaking line for my table.  My table might have not even existed for all it mattered.

But whatever, I eventually got checked in and got to go vote.  And boy, was that ever hard for them to figure out too.  First off, they couldn’t figure out which machine I was supposed to use, even though the districts were clearly labeled on each machine.  Could it possibly be that I am supposed to use the machine labeled district -12?  That would be too easy.  When they finally directed me to the machine, they couldn’t figure out how to turn it back on.  And then, when they did get it on, they explained to me how to touch the screen to vote like I was 2 years old.  Seriously!  I should have been explaining to them how to run their check in process like they were 2!

But, I voted, got my sticker and left ASAP.  I was so happy to be out of there and so nervous to have to be walking past the whipper snappers that I didn’t even stop and say Hi to the guy wearing an Iowa shirt (it is usually protocol to stop and talk to anyone who has any sign of Iowa on or around their person, and you are out of the state…not including the Chicago area though -that’s just too easy).

So next time, in 2012, I’m totally going absentee ballot all over the place.

Regardless of having to wait in lines though, I hope you all turned out to vote (this does not go for people reading this who do not live in the US of A).  I don’t care who you voted for, just that you voted.  And lastly, regardless of who you wanted to win, please do not a)gloat if you voted Obama, b) trash McCain because he lost, or c)trash Obama because you wanted McCain to win.  Now that the race is over, I hope that all the political talk will die down.  I just cannot take the hateful talk I’ve been hearing in person and that I’ve seen on the internet.  I think the election brings out some of the best and some of the most hateful qualities in people.  It’s great that you have an opinion, but stometimes that opinion doesn’t need to be rammed down someone’s throat.  And just because someone votes for a certain political party does not mean that they want to “eat your brains” (this is actually something I saw yesterday over on MentalFloss in the comments).

<3, lindsayF

P.S.  I really abhor the fact that people are running around saying that this was a Historical election because of Obama.  Yes, it is true that he did make history, but it is also true that history would have been made if McCain had won – Palin would have been the first woman Veep.  So if you voted Obama, please don’t brag about it – history would have been made regardless.

P.P.S. I hope everyone (and I mean both Democrats and Republicans) will support our new president.  No being mean, OK?  OK.

1 Response to “The Election”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer November 5, 2008 at 9:35 pm

    I feel rather guilty that it was so easy for me to vote. I voted last week and didn’t have to wait at all. But since I voted at the courthouse, I did have to go through a metal detector and take my belt off. So even though I didn’t have to wait, at least I feel like I “earned” my vote.


Leave a Reply

