An Open Letter to “The Office”

Dear “The Office”

I’m sorry if this comes across as rude, but it has already been proven that I am a little punchy today having mouthed off to a patron at the library (don’t even ask), but you have really let me down lately.

I remember all the happiness of season 2 with nary a bad episode and so many standouts like “Office Olympics,” “The Dundies,” and of course, “The Injury.”  Then came season three and you took Jim away.  I was a little perturbed, and there were some lackluster lulls in your greatness, but all in all everything was made up for by the last two shows of the season.

Season four was something of a confused mess where Michael became even more unbelievable (driving into a lake???) Jan went crazy, and Ryan was a douche.  But I let that slide because the strike disrupted the creative process.

Well, now that the fifth season is in full swing, how do I say this…..I am about one episode away from bailing on you and moving on to better things with the far superior 30 Rock.  The Dwight/Angela/Andy thing is becoming nothing but annoying (and is totally out of character for Angela), the stellar supporting cast seems to be relegated even more to the shadows, and don’t even get me started on how much the writers are irking me with what they are doing with Jim and Pam.  The first time they are together in so many episodes and they do that stupid scene with his brothers????  What were they thinking????

Now I will say that I have loved Holly.  But, I knew that she was not around to stay, so all the adorableness between her and Michael actually just made it worse because now she is gone and Michael is miserable and what do you bet Jan comes back in the picture.

I am writing this as a warning to tell you to pull yourself together.  I am not asking for season 2 caliber, I will settle for season 1 or 3.  But this is not an empty threat…..I have abandoned many a favorite tv show in my day because they made me mad.  I gave up on “Lost” in the middle of season 3 when it was meandering around all over the place and Sawyer and Kate did it in a cage….what what????  Apparently it got awesome after that, but I have moved on and won’t revisit it.  Also, Grey’s Anatomy was one of my must watch shows until Izzie slept with George.  That was just about the stupidest thing that could have happened and it made me hate two of my favorite characters, and I haven’t watched the show since.

So please, my Office friends.  Please get better.  I don’t want to stop watching you, but my time is precious and I already have a lot of stuff happening on Thursday nights.  But just know that if I do give up on your new episodes, we will always have season 2.

Sincerely,

Jen

2 Responses to “An Open Letter to “The Office””


  1. 1 Jill November 1, 2008 at 5:04 pm

    Oh my goodness, “The Injury” is my FAVORITE episode. It’s so amazingly hilarious. Dwight’s deleted scene is fantastic! I used to have it memorized.

    I agree with you about this season. I miss all of the crazy things that happened at the office. This season doesn’t make me as angry as you, but I definitely don’t think it’s as good as season two.

  2. 2 ngtjennifer November 1, 2008 at 6:48 pm

    Yeah, I probably shouldn’t complain since I do get to watch tv shows for free and it’s not like I am not getting my money’s worth. But when you really love a show, you feel an ownership of the characters and I really hate it when they mess with them.

    Anyways, The Injury is definitely the best episode by far. “Dwight you forgot your bumper” is possibly the best line ever.


Leave a Reply

