“She Was…An American Girl”

I learned today from my most trusted news source (Entertainment Weekly Online) that the American Girl store is going to discontinue the Samantha dolls!!!  This includes everything that has to deal with her like clothes, furniture and even Nellie!!!  (But not the books.)

I remember poring over the American Girl catalogs when I was little.  Samantha was always my favorite from the very beginning.  She had the best clothes and the coolest furniture.  I remember being so in love with her little coin purse.  But sadly, the American Girl dolls were always too expensive so I never got to have one as a child.  Even now, as a real grown-up with a much-too-expensive apartment and too much debt to pay off, I can’t afford to get one.

So alas, I wil have to wait until many moons from now when I strike it rich to buy a used doll off ebay and hope the previous owner hasn’t loved it TOO much.

Now I understand that they need to keep coming out with new dolls and maybe the older ones aren’t as popular as the ones that look just like you, but come on people!!!  Getting rid of Samantha!!!!  I am shocked and appalled!  My mom (who is visiting me for the week) is also outraged at this news.

I know that my fellow bloggers are big American Girl fans, so I hope that you are not too shocked by this horrible news.

Here is a link to an article about it.

7 Responses to ““She Was…An American Girl””


  1. 1 ngtamber October 14, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    You shall have a Samantha Doll for Christmas. It is done.

  2. 2 ngtlindsay October 15, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    What? What? Discontinue Samantha!? This is about the most terrible news I have ever heard. Seriously – I am more upset about this than the fact that HBP was delayed almost a year.

  3. 3 ngtlindsay October 15, 2008 at 4:19 pm

    I too was obsessed with the coin purse. It was just so pretty and pink!

  4. 4 Sheila October 17, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    Oh man! Now I’M a little upset about Samantha, too!

  5. 5 ngtjennifer October 17, 2008 at 8:47 pm

    Oh Amber, you’re too sweet, but I don’t need a Samantha doll for Christmas. I have lived this long without her, so I think I will be fine…..but think of all the little girls who won’t even get to DREAM about having her!

  6. 6 ngtamber October 20, 2008 at 11:21 am

    haha, you are still getting one.


  1. 1 Amber and Lindsay Are The Bestest Girls Ever!! « NerdGirlBlogging Trackback on January 7, 2009 at 10:50 pm

Leave a Reply

