LibraryThing: The World’s Best Time-Sucker

Lately, I have spent a lot of time adding books to my LibaryThing.  It has actually become kind of an obsession.  I just love to look at the library I’ve accumulated and see all the pretty covers lined up next to each other.  It’s really quite sad how I have to scroll through all 200 odd covers every time I add a new book.

Now, I have had a GoodReads account for months now, but I only have like six books entered on that site.  It seemed like a chore to enter each book after I read it.  But then a month ago I joined LibraryThing, and I couldn’t stop adding!  I joined up because it gives you the ability to add tags to each book.  That is really helpful for a librarian, because then I can quickly locate all the “Fantasy” books I have read or all the “boy books.”

**For those of you who don’t know what LibraryThing is, it is a website where you can enter all the books that you own.  The site brings up records from Amazon or the Library of Congress, so all the info about the book is right there.  Then you can add tags, rate the books, and add reviews.  You can either have a free account or pay $25 for a lifetime membership.**

I am keeping track of all the books I have READ, not ones that I own. But it is an especially awesome way to catalog what you own.  I always forget which books I have, so when I go to booksales or thrift shops, I inevitably come home with something I’ve already got.

I have been writing down of all of the books I have read since January, so that is what the majority of my Library is made of.  Today alone I added like 7 more books (3 that I just read, 4 that I remembered reading in the past)!  It is so awesome to watch my library grow and grow.  So if I start to get lazy about reviewing books on this blog, here is a link to my library where I have all of my books rated.  I haven’t reviewed too many of them because that takes a little bit too much effort.

So please, everyone go over to LibraryThing and explore.  Also, feel free to make me your friend.  I only have two which is very sad.  But I warn you that once you begin you may never be able to stop!  Wah hah hah!! (that was my evil plan laugh)

Jen

1 Response to “LibraryThing: The World’s Best Time-Sucker”


  1. 1 ngtamber October 3, 2008 at 10:24 pm

    I have been meaning to get LibraryThing and Goodreads accounts for like months now—I promise to get them up soon!


Leave a Reply

