Children of the Corn Remake!

So guess what!  They’re remaking Children of the Corn!  (Duh, I kind of alluded to that in the title of this post, but whatever)  It’s only for the Sci-Fi channel, but still.  Apparently the original movie had too happy of an ending, and the remake will stay closer to Stephen King’s book.  Now how do I know this?  Is it because I am a horror fan?  Ha – ask Amber what happened when we tried to watch The Exorcism of Emily Rose (hint, I made it maybe 5 minutes into the movie, started to hyperventilate, and then we turned it off and watched The Princess Diaries).  No, I know because apparently they will be filming the movie in the QCA!  QCA?  Quad Cities Area aka Bettendorf and Davenport, Iowa and Moline and Rock Island, Illinois.  But actually, they’re just filming in the Iowa half.

Apparently the first movie was filmed in Sioux City, Iowa (who knew?) but supposedly takes place in Nebraska.  My question is – why couldn’t they just shoot it in Nebraska, but whatever.  Filming is supposed to start tomorrow, so I’m tempted to drive around and try to find out where, but I’m lazy so I probably won’t.  Oh by the way, I’m in Iowa until this Sunday!  Hooray for not being in Nashville by myself (hubbie is leaving for New York for a science geek conference tomorrow morning).

But anyways, Children of the Corn??!!  Neat that they’re remaking it in my hometown, not neat because that movie terrifies me.  I’ve seen bits and pieces of it, enough to kind of get a feel for it, but not enough to scar me for life.  I highly doubt that I will even watch the remake, even just to see if I can figure out the locations or if I know any of the local kids they picked to act in it.  The guy who plays Adam (wait, is that his name?), the guy who can heal and was the great samurai from Japan who’s all evil now on Heroes is supposed to star in it.  So that’s kind of cool.

So did you guys watch Children of the Corn back in the day?  Did it frighten the bejeezers out of you?  Can you no longer drive through cornfields with a sense of security?  Hahahaha, that reminds me – I watched Signs (a relatively un-scary movie) at the drive in theater near Maquoketa, IA, which is in a cornfield, and got super freaked out.  I honestly think the best freak out would be to take someone into a corn field, make them watch Children of the Corn (the original or the remake), and then have a 10 year old with ketchup smeared all over his mouth sneak up on the movie watcher.  Oh good grief, just thinking about it makes me shiver and laugh at the same time, because HOW HORRIFYING WOULD THAT BE???  

<3, lindsayF

 

Hes pointing at you, you know.  I wouldnt drive through any small towns or cornfields any more if I were you.  Not unless you saw another adult unharmed.

Care for a drive through the Heartland any time soon?

6 Responses to “Children of the Corn Remake!”


  1. 1 Jill September 2, 2008 at 11:36 pm

    So many things to comment on in this!
    — I have never seen Children of the Corn, but I really want to watch it now.
    — A remake filmed in the QCA featuring the guy from Heroes makes me want to watch it even more.
    — I can’t vouch for any cornfield scariness because of Children of the Corn, but Signs, which I think is still kind of scary at times, does make me think twice about entering cornfields. I’m pretty sure the year it came out, the field next to my house was planted with corn. Totally scary.
    — I love drive-ins. I wish there were one near IC.
    — I really liked The Exorcism of Emily Rose. I think the first time I saw it, I was alone, but thank goodness it wasn’t dark – that would have been too much.

  2. 2 rooneyreverb September 3, 2008 at 2:24 pm

    Haha, I really wish there was corn field nearby now, just so that I could try that thing with the kid and the ketchup! Then when the victim has stopped screaming and soiling themselves and turns angrily on me, I could say that Lindsay told me to do it, and you’d be safe from retribution because you’re thousands of miles away! It’s a genius plan!

    Although I thin it perhaps shows a mean streak in you…. 😉

    Rooney

  3. 3 ngtlindsay September 4, 2008 at 8:27 am

    Jill – I saw Signs for the first time in the backseat of a car with 4 other friends, and the one sitting next to me would get scared, grab my shoulder and scream, which would of course set me off screaming, which would of course set the rest of the car screaming, so it was basically a screamfest.

    Also, I think Maquoketa isn’t too far away from Iowa City – you’d have to make a little trip of it, but it’d be doable.

    Rooney – you have no idea how large a mean streak I can have 🙂

  4. 4 Highwaydude September 12, 2008 at 11:01 am

    I was just talking with my Mom from back home in Iowa and they are filming parts of the show today in my hometown Charlotte, Iowa.

  5. 5 ngtlindsay September 13, 2008 at 5:04 pm

    Cool beans Highwaydude – will you be watching to see if you can recognize your hometown? Or will you be watching sunny movies, like me?

  6. 6 Javy December 8, 2008 at 6:43 pm

    Wow!!! I am very excited to see this. Ive seen the first one.
    But this one tops it I am from the Quad Cities!!! Its was in the paper. Now people will know what the Quad Cities is lol I love it.
    Well hope all is well… Seasons Greetings!!!


Leave a Reply

