Three Awesome Books

I know I promised to make more posts about all of the wonderful books I have been reading, but that hasn’t really happened.  I have been reading a lot this summer, but not very many of the books stood out as being great.  I read a lot of great sequels (Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey, Skulduggery Pleasant Playing With Fire, Rumours: a Luxe Novel, etc…) but I didn’t really feel like posting about them.  I also re-read all of the Harry Potter books, which took a considerable amount of time.

Well, after a long drought, I have read three books recently that were all really amazing!  I am so excited about them that I literally attack everyone at work and talk about how great these are.  I am hoping that this is just the beginning and I keep finding fantastic books.  I have a lot of books in a pile on my kitchen table that look very promising………  So here are three great books if you need something to take your mind off work or school.

The Diamond of Drury Lane by Julia Golding is a British book that has actually been out forever in the UK.  There have already been three sequels published over there, but this one is just now available over here.  (The picture is actually the British cover because it is a whole lot more awesome then the American one.)  It’s about a girl named Cat Royal (which I always want to pronounce like Royale for some reason) who was left in front of the Royal Theater as a baby and has grown up in the theater.  It takes place in London in the late 1700s and the historical details are great.  Cat is loved by all the workers in the theater and spends her days roaming the streets and trying to avoid getting in scuffles with Billy “Boil” and his gang.  One night she accidently overhears the manager Mr. Sheridan talking about a diamond that he is hiding in the theater.  When he discovers her listening, she promises to help look after the diamond.  The story has lots of mystery and action as well as lots of great “Britishisms.”  I really liked Cat and couldn’t put the book down, so I really hope the other ones come out here soon.

I have been looking forward to reading The Girl Who Could Fly by Victoria Forester ever since I read a review of it months ago.  When I finally got my hands on it, I wasn’t disappointed.  The story begins on a small farm where Betty and Joe have lived a quiet life for their entire marriage.  Then Betty gets pregnant very late in life and they have Piper.  Piper is a wonderfully talkative child who happens to be able to float up near the ceiling.  Her parents keep her on the farm and don’t let her interact with other children because she is “unnatural.”  Eventually Piper harnesses her power and really learns how to fly.  She accidentally shows off her talent at the town picnic and then all heck breaks loose.  The best thing about this book was that I had absolutely no idea what was going to happen next.  There was one part that was so suspenseful that I had to stop reading it at work and wait until I got home so I could scream and gasp without getting stared at.  I really loved this book a lot and I think everyone should read it!

My favorite book of all three is definitely The Patron Saint of Butterflies by Cecilia Galante.  Not only does it have the most beautiful cover ever, it is one of those books that makes you mad, sad, horrified, and happy all in a matter of pages.  The book is told in alternating chapters between Agnes and Honey.  They both live in a religious commune that is run by a man named Emmanuel.  I don’t really want to say much more than that because it is so much better to discover what happens for yourself.  There were times when I was reading this book that I was yelling at Agnes because she made me so mad, but only because I cared about what happened to her.  The jacket flap says the story is based on the author’s own experiences, which makes it all the more terrifying and intriguing.

Well, hopefully I will keep posting about books every once in a while.  But apparently, I like to blog about cute boys and my cats a lot more.

Jen


1 Response to “Three Awesome Books”


  1. 1 ngtlindsay August 29, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    I can’t wait to read all of these!!! You’re the best!!


Leave a Reply

