In Defense of “Breaking Dawn”

It is hard to ignore all of the kerfluffle fans are having about the fourth book in the Twilight Saga. I am actually getting pretty sick of hearing about it myself. I had some issues with the second and third books, so I was fully prepared to despise this one, but come on people, it is AWESOME!!!!

For those of you who haven’t finished it yet, please stop reading now, but for everyone else, get ready to hear why I love it…….

1. Bella rocks!!!! I have spent a lot of time recently complaining about how much I hate Bella. Now I know why she was such a wimpy human character………she was born to be a vampire! I love how she is now the most intimidating member of the Cullen family. Way to go girl!

2. Charlie was allowed to stay part of Bella’s family. This was the thing that I was most worried about, the main reason that I did not want Bella to turn into a vampire…so when Ms. Meyer came up with a way to solve this problem I knew I was going to love this book. And of course, it was Jacob who came up with the ingenious solution, because Bella and Edward were too wrapped up in each other to realize how simple the answer was.

3. Seth Clearwater!!!!

4. The action revolved around so many different characters instead of just Bella and Edward. I loved all of the interactions with the Cullens and the werewolves and also the introduction of so many new vampires (Garrett anyone??).

5. Jacob got his own section!!! How can you not love this guy with all of those amusing chapter headings.

6. Jacob ended up happy. I was worried that in order for Edward and Bella to be truly happy together, Jacob would have to be eliminated, but thank goodness that was not the case. Even though it was a little icky at first, I loved the idea of Jacob and Nessie. Now they can all be a happy family together!!

7. The relationship between Jacob and Edward was classic. I love that these two finally became friends. When Edward called Jacob “my son” at the end, that was when I really sobbed.

8. No big fight at the end. I am so sick of the big end-of-the-world battle to end a series. I really am a pacifist and was happy that no one died (except of course that one chick, but I didn’t really care).

9. The bed frame and the pillows………ah wonderful.

All in all a very enjoyable book that has given me a whole new appreciation of the entire series. After seeing Stephenie Meyer in Chicago at the Breaking Dawn Concert Series, I know that she is a kind, funny, adorable woman who doesn’t deserve all of this flack just because some people are upset Jacob didn’t die.

Jen

8 Responses to “In Defense of “Breaking Dawn””


  1. 1 Elizabeth August 14, 2008 at 11:41 am

    I agree with you almost entirely. I never hated Bella, or the second or third books, and I was sad that Irina got killed… but for all the rest, you are 100% on the money. Thank you for being fair to poor Stephenie!

  2. 2 twilight_fan August 28, 2008 at 10:14 am

    I am with you! I love “Breaking Dawn”!
    I had issues with book two also, but four makes it all up!
    Just finished reading it, and it moved me enough to start a forum for Twilight lovers – http://www.thebloodsuckers.com

  3. 3 ngtjennifer August 28, 2008 at 5:14 pm

    That’s awesome! I am so glad that there are other people out there who enjoyed the book.

  4. 4 Amanda December 20, 2008 at 12:10 am

    I agree, just got done with the book, it was sightly odd with the baby and all but great Bella and Edward fluff! I hated to read New Moon and Eclipse because seriously, Bella wasnt “in love” with Jacob, he was confused by her guilt. No one is in love with 2 ppl at the same time, theres love and then there is temptaton infatuation. Anyway, Bella was always going to go with Edward for eternity, such a great series don’t we all wish our boyfriends were so handsome, rich and protective…and least we forget charming, funny and sweet!
    Loved the pick of Kristen and Rob, the have CHEMESTRY

  5. 5 shriya December 29, 2008 at 6:41 pm

    i love twilight! i dreamt about Edward aka Robert Patterson! he is hot!

  6. 6 Alison March 4, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    Omg how did u eva h8 Bella???
    And wat do u mean pepl wantd Jake 2 die????
    Totaly agree with Seth bein 1 of da best thngs in dat book, u just want to giv him a really big hugg most of da time.
    i thnk evey 1 had probs with book 2 coz where was edward???
    i really thnk she should write a 5th book (not counting Midnight Sun as a 5th book)telling u wat happens when they move 2 a new place. it would be really interesting how would the cullens explane renesme and would jacob go 2???
    just love the whole series
    check out the partial draft of midnight sun (twilight from Edwards point of veiw) on StephanieMayer.com

  7. 7 Dawn March 29, 2009 at 7:13 am

    I loved New Moon.. wasnt such a fan of BD. But I had some real serious reasons.. the whole imprinting on a baby/child, really creeped me out.. even if it was handled with care.. it was just gross to me. Even though it was set up for us in Eclipse, it was just gross. It would have been a lot better for them to have meet when she was a lot older. It would just be more acceptable to me. I know, its a book, but there is something really creepy about the newborn baby, the toddler who looks at Jacob as *hers* etc.. just odd.

    But I love the whole series and read em all the time.

  8. 8 Ine September 3, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    You’re right about everything. Really, Breaking Dawn was the best out of four. I didn’t have any problems with book 2 or 3, actually I really like eclipse, I think it’s almost as good as BD. I also never hated Bella. But the rest is exactly right ❤


Leave a Reply

