Bring It On, Santa Monica Public Library

Watch out, Santa Monica Public Library–now that this nerdgirl and her nerdy friends have been introduced to the world of competitive book cart drilling, you are going to have some serious competition next year at the ALA Annual in Chicago. OOOO, the spirit of cheerleadering is bubbling up in me and it feels good. ew, no that is just my French Onion soup from Panera that I ate when I went to the mall to read “Airhead” by Meg Cabot. Yes, I go to the mall to read. Anyway— We will be BRINGIN’ IT.

Here is what we have to beat–the Well Stacked Cybraians performing at ALA:

Oh the costume changes! the pinwheel! the MOONWALKING! If I hadn’t learned the importance of not stealing another team’s routines from a certain life-altering cinematic achievement that entered theaters in August 2000 at the beginning of my second season of high school cheerleading, I would be running with this. or moonwalking with it… because I love to moonwalk… and rollerskate.

So the awesomeness of the ALA conference in Anaheim this summer was so massive that I seemed to just have skipped over blogging about it all together. Free books, Disneyland, and meeting Jon Scieszka and Mo Willems (who autographed my book “to Amber, the somewhat fantastic” which I would of taken as a compliment except that I asked it to be “to Amber, the fantastic” so he was actually knocking me down a peg which I’m sure I needed) left me overwhelmed. Who knew being a librarian could be so fabulous?!

amberj.

3 Responses to “Bring It On, Santa Monica Public Library”


  1. 1 Fran Cannon Slayton July 25, 2008 at 7:24 am

    Oh my gosh, that was so funny! I was there, I saw it, but I was on my tiptoes in the back of the crowd! GREAT video! You aspire to greatness! Good luck next year! Fran

  2. 2 Sheila July 28, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    You ARE Amber the Fantastic! Own it. Ignore that silly author!

  3. 3 ngtjennifer July 29, 2008 at 6:05 pm

    I can’t believe you got to meet Mo Willems!!!! I totally have a literary crush on him. The Elephant and Piggie books are pure genius!


Leave a Reply

