Storytime with Jen

One of the highlights of my week is opening the mailbox to see my shiny Entertainment Weekly smiling up at me.  Since I have been super busy this week, I hadn’t had a chance to look through the latest issue.  I was also kind of saving it because I knew it was all about Twilight and it would be a nice treat on my day off.  Well, first off I looked at the cover:

On first glance I was very excited, but as I looked closer I was like, “Ugh! Ick!  Why does Edward look dead?  Not sexy-vampire-dead, but actual CSI dead???  Also, please button up your shirt!  No one wants to see your not really hairy, but not really smooth pasty British chest!!!”

After the initial shock, I opened up the magazine to a very pleasant sight:

Woohoo!!!  I am so excited for this movie!  I saw the show in London and it was pretty much the greatest thing ever!!!  I can’t wait to see Colin Firth sing and hopefully dance!

In a much better mood now, I continued to flip through the magazine until I got another shock.  This is the actual ad from inside the magazine:

Here is a closeup:

It totally freaked me out!!!  Now I know that my name is on the outside of the magazine, blah blah blah, but putting my name in an ad…………eeeks!!!  It makes me feel all paranoid that there are cameras watching me everywhere and little robots monitoring my every move, which would only be okay if they were all like Wall-e (oh how I love Wall-e……….everyone should go see that movie now……..take tissues!).  Maybe it is not all that freaky to some people, but it still gives me the heebie jeebies every time I open the magazine.

Other than being stalked by my magazine, things are going well.  There is a whole menagerie of wildlife outside on my porch using the birdfeeder including a black squirrel, a chipmunk, and some rather intimidating pigeons.  I also got a random hug from a five year old boy who was in my storytime group last fall, it was very sweet and made my whole summer.  Right now I am gearing up for my family reunion, the Breaking Dawn release, and Terminus!!!!

5 Responses to “Storytime with Jen”


  1. 1 ngtlindsay July 18, 2008 at 11:33 am

    Hmm, on first look at the Twilight cover, I do agree with you Jen, Edward does look a little too gross. 😦 And I think it’s hilarious that the magazine put your name in the ad. Maybe you have something you want to confess? 🙂

  2. 2 kelly July 20, 2008 at 12:24 am

    edward doent look right at all. but besides that who is that with him in the mag? it doesnt look like bella from the other pics…and this is freaking me out cuz he said how he only loved her and…who is that!!!

  3. 3 rooneyreverb July 21, 2008 at 3:19 pm

    Hey, don’t be bashing the British not-hairy-but-not-quite-smooth chest! It’s our thing that we do!

    Rooney

    PS: Am I the only person in the world who still hasn’t seen Wall-E?

  4. 4 ngtjennifer July 21, 2008 at 9:45 pm

    I have no problem with the wonders of existent/non-existent British chest hair, but I just don’t want to see it on the cover of my magazines. That is Bella on the cover with him, and she looks phenomenal, it is almost like they tried to make him look all gross.

    And yes, you do need to see Wall-E, it is the best of all the Pixar movies (and that is saying something).

  5. 5 SM July 23, 2008 at 4:03 pm

    Edward does look a little too made up in that picture. Still, that doesn’t lessen my excitement about the movie. And about Breaking Dawn… just over a week!!! BooksOnBoard (www.booksonboard.com), this ebook retailer I really like, is hosting a Twilight Rewards Quest in anticipation of the release of Breaking Dawn. They’re giving away some awesome prizes (like a Cybook – don’t have to lug all of the incredibly heavy Twilight books around any more!) to Stephenie Meyer fans. Here is a flyer with more info about the Twilight Rewards Quest, and their website should have more up about it soon.


Leave a Reply

