In case you were trying to find Sleeping Beauty…

Check the Horror section!

I’m serious–there i was in the Iowa City Public Library looking at the Musicals’ section of the DVDs trying to decide if I really needed to check out both Jungle Book and Thoroughly Modern Millie (I put Jungle Book back… for now) when I turned around to look for Jill and my eyes landed on Sleeping Beauty. Ahhhh, I totally want to watch that! so I grabbed it (It is actually playing right now while I watch this) and then I wondered “hey, why wasn’t this with Jungle Book? Wha, wha, what section is this anyway?” OMG IT WAS THE SF/HORROR SECTION! And right next to Sleeping Beauty was gasp! The Santa Clause 2!!!! What kind of crazy twisted world is this????

So I went to the Fiction Desk because I was sure these had to be mismarked… But NO! The fiction librarian said she was just as confuzzled as I was, but it has something to do with how fantasy fits in with science fiction and science fiction with horror. I now really look forward to the cataloguing class I will be taking this fall because it is sure to be R-I-O-T. seriously, I’m not being sarcastic, this gives me the giggles.

Oh, and isn’t the “Once Upon a Dream” Sequence where Prince Philip surprises Princess Aurora/Rose in the forest just to die for. I really thought that was how I was going to meet the love of my life–not going to lie, I used to walk off into forests/thickets/trees quite frequently when I was younger so that an opportunity could arise.

amberj.

3 Responses to “In case you were trying to find Sleeping Beauty…”


  1. 1 Jill June 19, 2008 at 12:08 am

    This movie is awesome. Prince Philip is superior to every other male Disney character, and Maleficent’s plan to let Princess Aurora sleep for 100 years and then release Philip when he’s old and she’s young is brilliantly evil.

  2. 2 ngtjennifer June 19, 2008 at 6:06 pm

    I totally agree that Prince Philip rules!!! He is the first prince who actually gets to do anything (and he has a dreamy voice). I love him because he talks to his horse just like I talk to my cats….”No Carrots!” heeheehee

  3. 3 Jill June 19, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    Yes, exactly! I love that he talks to his horse!


Leave a Reply

