Double Dare Should Never Have Gone Off the Air

Hey y’all!
I just watched an old episode of Family Double Dare on Daily Motion, and I was reminded why I loved Nickelodeon so much as a child.  To make this episode even better, Weird Al was on the red team, playing against the guy who used to be the Incredible Hulk (there’s been a lot though, lately, so think late 80’s Hulk) on the blue team.  Weird Al’s team won, and got to go to the Obstacle Course, where they got through in time and won a car (it was a really ugly car, but then again this was a car from 20 years ago, so….). 

+

I hope all of you watched Double Dare as children (or young adults, or adults – depending on how old you all are…I don’t know…I’m not even going to guess), because it was seriously one of the best programs on television…EVER.  Or at least in my opinion it was, which pretty much solidifies it.  You know what else was a great show on Nickelodeon back in the day?  Legends of the Hidden Temple.  That was the show where they started out with like 6 teams of 2 kids (Red Jaguars, Silver Snakes, Green Monkeys, Organge Iguanas, etc.), and then had to cross the moat via some way and then that narrowed it down to 4 teams, and then from there they had the steps of knowledge where they listened to the legend for Omac (the temple god or guardian or something) and then they had to answer questions by slamming their feet into pads on their squares to move down to the bottom of the steps.  The first two teams to the bottom of the steps then got to go onto the temple games.  The teams then won penants of life (to protect them from the temple guards), and whoever had the most penants got to go into the temple.  I always was (and still am) completely sure that I could go on that show and kick some booty.  Especially in the temple part.  Have you seen how slow some of those kids go?  Come on, you only have 2 and a half minutes to get in, get the artifact and get out, unless you get caught without a penant of life, and then you have to leave the temple while your partner goes in and hopes that he/she can either get out in time, or if they don’t have a penant of life, get caught by another temple guard in another room.  Seriously.  It especially made me angry when the kids couldn’t put together that silver monkey.  It’s not that hard!  It’s only 3 pieces!  I swear to goodness, if they resurrected that show, I would put a petition in to let people in their 20’s go on it since we were the ones who grew up with it.  …they should put that on NBC.

Another great game show – Guts, and Global Guts.  They’re exactly the same show, except obviously Global Guts had kids competing from other countries too.  This is another show that I’m certain that I would totally rock.  Some of those kids should never have gotten to go on that show – I mean, we are talking elite kid athletes here – not kids who lift their cabbage patch dolls for exercise. 

That should have been me.
But whatever, I may have not gotten a chance to shine on a game show as a child, but maybe in the future.  Who knows?  I’m definintely always going to keep out an eye for the Wheel Wagon, becuase that’s another show I think that I’d totally kick butt on – unless the wheel bankrupted me everytime.  But whatever, I could still get all the toss up puzzles. 

Anyhow, it’s getting late, and seeing as how I’ve procrastinated almost my entire day away with watching movies, and old nickelodeon game shows, I think I’ll try to do some essays now.  When I get done, I’m letting myself get some shorts from J.Crew!  Wish me luck!

<3, lindsayF

4 Responses to “Double Dare Should Never Have Gone Off the Air”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer June 18, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    Yippee Guts!!!! Only the best game show ever!!! That was the show that had the cool British lady as the announcer right?

  2. 2 ngtlindsay June 18, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    Moe!!!

  3. 3 Jill June 18, 2008 at 10:30 pm

    Sadly, I did not get to watch Nickelodeon as a kid because we did not have cable BUT for some reason we did have VHS tapes with some old shows like Double Dare and The Brady Bunch and Silver Spoons on it. That obstacle course round was awesome.

  4. 4 insurance appointment setting August 12, 2009 at 5:28 am

    legends of hte hidden temple was the greatest, double dare i could do without, and G.U.T.S was always good.

    Who would win in a fight between Olmec and the Agrro Crag


Leave a Reply

