Oh Dear, Oh Dear

Today I found out something that made me die a little bit inside.  Apparently it wasn’t enough to sex up the new My Little Pony dolls, they had to go and “re-invent” Strawberry Shortcake.

Not only is the “new” Strawberry posing like she is itching to be in Playboy, they replaced her Calico Cat with a cellphone!!!!!!  What????  I am shocked and appalled (but I will admit, I do like her new hat much better).  They are also planning on launching new Care Bears that are thinner and have long luscious eyelashes.  Dear me, I am glad I still have my original Gentleheart Lamb to cuddle with.

Read the full disturbing article (it includes the phrase “Goth version of Tweety bird”) here.

Jen

P.S.  The cat stroller came today and it is AWESOME!

7 Responses to “Oh Dear, Oh Dear”


  1. 1 Jill June 12, 2008 at 9:06 am

    Yikes! I’m appalled too. Even though I was never a huge fan of Strawberry Shortcake. Maybe because I didn’t like strawberries? The Care Bears makeover horrifies me. And they’re going to update Mickey??? Ahh!

  2. 2 ngtlindsay June 13, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    OMG! Why do we need to send this kind of message to kids?

  3. 3 ngtamber June 15, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    Ok, so haven’t read the article yet and the care-bear thing does seem awful, but um, I have to be honest and say I think the new Strawberry Shortcake looks way adorable. And I don’t think her pose looks playboy at ALL! The only thing that bugs me about her is not having a cat–can’t a girl have a cat and a cell phone? Judging by those two photos, I would much rather play with the new Shortcake–love love love the argyle strawberry pattern on her blouse.

  4. 4 ngtamber June 15, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    oh, and anything is better than Bratz dolls, right?

  5. 5 ngtamber June 15, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    Ok, read the article now–and I’m cool with all of it. I don’t see them doing anything that hasn’t been done for decades. The Mickey Mouse we knew sure wasn’t the Mickey Mouse our grandparents knew–I have always assumed characters are re-imagined for each generations, so as long as they don’t go away, and stay true to their original spirit I’m cool with it. I actually think it is kinda fun to see how they evolve.

  6. 6 Jill June 15, 2008 at 11:28 pm

    Oh yeah, anything IS better than Bratz dolls.

  7. 7 ngtjennifer June 16, 2008 at 10:18 am

    I do understand what you mean about the new Strawberry being cuter, but I guess it just makes me upset that instead of coming up with new original characters, they have to change old ones. Why not leave our sacred childhood icons alone and come up with an original idea or two.

    Plus, I actually played with the original Strawberry Shortcake (cuz I am way old) and so it is that much more traumatizing for me.

    And yes, I hate the Bratz dolls too!


Leave a Reply

