Fictional Characters I Would Date: Part Six

This next entry is from another of my favorite movies and it is a definite no-brainer:

Ben Calder from “Chasing Liberty”

Ben Calder (played by the dashing Matthew Goode) is one of those characters that is so perfect you just know that he could never exist in real life (there is the slight matter of him lying to Anna the whole time, but please……..I am not the president’s daughter so he wouldn’t have to lie to me).  First of all he is from Wales, which means he has a wonderful accent, but not only that, his voice in general is one of the most remarkable things I have ever heard.  My knees turn to jelly every time he says words like “adore,” “gesture,” and “un-bloody-hinged.”  He also is not bad to look at and does a great ‘brooding/smoldering look.’  And he looks smoking hot in a suit as well as unwashed jeans and a t-shirt.

He is the perfect gentleman who will rescue me when I start to fall off rooftops or when I am harassed by angry mobs.   He  is also an avid photographer who could take great pictures of my cats.  He manages to resist the advances of a very beautiful Mandy Moore because he knows it would be wrong to take advantage of her (until later in the movie of course).  He could also take me bungee jumping since he is experienced in that area as well.  There are many other qualities that I can’t quite seem to remember at this moment in time because I am too distracted by his killer smile.

I found this great video on YouTube that is totally devoted to the splendiferousness that is his voice, so enjoy!

Jen

9 Responses to “Fictional Characters I Would Date: Part Six”


  1. 1 ngtamber May 28, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    ahhh sigh. Haha, best story ever: so my brother (a cinema major, mind you) went through a Mandy Moore binge a couple years ago so he made me go rent this movie for him since he was too embarrassed. I then proceeded to tell everyone who knew him about how he wanted to watch Chasing Liberty… And although he was watching it merely because Mandy Moore is totally beautiful (my words not his, he probably called her hot? I don’t remember) he did admit that the movie was not that bad despite being a teen-girl movie.

  2. 2 Jill May 29, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    Well I’m not a big fan of Mandy Moore, so I’ve avoided this movie, but um, well that accent, it’s tough to resist.

  3. 3 Sarah May 29, 2008 at 5:06 pm

    I have to say that, although I am not a Katie Holmes fan, I do love First Daughter for Marc Blucas’ character, James Lansome. He may not have the accent thing going for him but, man, those dimples are worth it. He also finds himself in the difficult position of lying to the president’s daughter about the fact that he is undercover Secret Service. One might think that first daughters would be on the lookout for hot guys that are in amazing shape and just happen to be hanging around all of the time.

    I also have to admit that I did not love Marc as Reilly on Buffy, but that was more because of his character than his performance. Now that I think about it, he had to lie to Buffy because he was in a secret military organization as well. Maybe there is an actor “type” for sneakiness. You know, there are the “pretty faces” types, the “girl next doors” types, maybe he is the “secret identities” types.

  4. 4 ngtjennifer May 29, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    Oh, that was a great story! I bet your brother will be really excited when he learns it is all over the internet now too.

  5. 5 ngtjennifer May 29, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    I actually haven’t seen the Katie Holmes movie, but I also was not a fan of Marc Blucas in Buffy. I think it was because he was sandwiched in between Angel and Spike, and really there was no contest with either of those guys.

    And Jill, I think that you should definitely give the movie a try. If it gets to be too much, just skip ahead to the part where Ben shows up and you should be fine.

  6. 6 Jill May 30, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    All this talk about Reilly on Buffy fits in nicely with my recent decision to rewatch the series. So far I’m on the 3rd episode. 🙂

  7. 7 ngtjennifer May 30, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    I need to rewatch it too! I just bought the big box collection from Amazon and have only watched two random episodes (Halloween and Hush). I need to go back and see everything from the beginning.

  8. 8 Jill May 30, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    Hush is pretty much the greatest episode — at least going from memory. I remember thinking that episode was genius! I saw mention of it somewhere the other day which is what started this whole thing. I can’t wait to get to it again.

  9. 9 ngtjennifer May 31, 2008 at 5:48 pm

    I completely agree. Hush makes me laugh so hard during the scene in the auditorium where Giles is doing his overhead presentation! I am giggling just thinking about it.


Leave a Reply

