Flour in the face–classic

Yum, so it is just about time to take my oreo cake out of the oven! But get this–while I was coating the cake pan with flour I had this sudden urge to throw some flour on my face, mess up my hair (that was already done, I decided to screw showering today so my hair is up in a jiggly ponytail at the top my head like in the good ol cheerleading days) and spritz my face with fishbowl water so I look like I SLAVED over my baking. Whoa, commercial flashback!!!!! One of the best commercials ever created if you ask me. I think it is so ingrained in my cultured memory because it was aired during a break in the Wonderful World of Disney’s presentation of Bedknobs and Broomsticks on the VHS tape kept by my grandparents. A tape I watched over and over and over and that also included a recording of Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade. Those are now two comfort movies for me. But back to the commerical–do you remember it? Well if not, youtube has the magic:

RICE KRISPIES TREATS! oh been awhile since I’ve had those–hmmm, and I don’t think they are like the easiest thing to make–I mean they are super sticky and marshmallow burns easily. Not nearly as easy as my Oreo Cake (basically I make a white cake and mix crushed oreos into the mix, and then I also mix crushed oreos into the white frosting. TA-DA!). In the end I decided to keep my face flour-free. It wasn’t really worth the mess, and no one else is here to share the moment with—I suppose I could have taken a photo and shared it with you all. That is what web 2.0 is really all about right? next time next time. I need to go eat this entire oreo cake by myself and then talk myself out of going for a jog.

amberj.

3 Responses to “Flour in the face–classic”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer May 20, 2008 at 8:08 pm

    That commercial is so classic!!

  2. 2 Jill May 21, 2008 at 5:41 pm

    I love old commercials. They make me so nostalgic! 🙂


  1. 1 The Fiona and Liam Chronicles » Blog Archive » What’s up in SC? Trackback on May 20, 2008 at 10:33 pm

Leave a Reply

