Cool Things About Being a Librarian

Sorry for the lack of posts from me lately.  Believe or not, there really hasn’t been anything in my life exciting enough to blog about (with the exception of the Dolly Parton Tea Party, which was pretty awesome).

But I have been really enjoying my job lately.  I am in my first year of being a real-live-children’s librarian.  One of the really cool things about my job is that I have fans!!!  I recently went to a preschool to do a storytime and one of the little boys who comes in all the time was in the class and he yelled, “It’s Miss Jen!  It’s Miss Jen!  She’s my teacher!!!”  My little heart melts and my knees turn to jello everytime someone calls me Miss Jen.  And there is nothing better than reading a story to a group of three year olds and hearing them all laugh out loud at the silliness of Mrs. McNosh and her wash or George from “Bark, George.”

I also love the fact that I get to buy the DVDs!!!!!  Putting me in charge of purchasing the children’s DVDs is like letting a fox into a henhouse………..I have waaaaay too much fun doing it.  I had a little bit of extra money because the year is drawing to a close, so I have been buying like crazy.  I think it is really healthy for me to get to spend so much money on DVDs at work, because then I don’t feel the need to spend as much of my own money to buy DVDs for me.  One of my recent purchases that I am super excited about is the First Season of “The Gummi Bears” on DVD!!!!!  You may all be way too young to know what that was, but it was all about these bears that lived in a forest and made this wicked gummi-berry juice that allowed them to jump super high!!!!  Okay, now that description is not the best, but if you watch this video, you will get the idea.

Now there are lots of other cool things about being a librarian, but I am too tired and lazy to list them all now.

P.S.  I totally watched “Honey, I Blew Up the Kid” on tv today, and I forgot how awesome that movie is!!!!!!!  So much better than the first one (because it made me cry when the ant died), so funny and cute.  Awww, it’s one of those movies that you never think about until it is on tv and then you have no choice but to watch it because it is so amazing!

Jen

2 Responses to “Cool Things About Being a Librarian”


  1. 1 Jill May 4, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    Aww, “The Gummi Bears” reminds me of all of those cartoons I used to watch as a kid….”Chip ‘n’ Dale Rescue Rangers,” “Darkwing Duck,” and tons more I’m forgetting.

  2. 2 ngtjennifer May 5, 2008 at 10:12 am

    I know! I also bought Darkwing Duck during my crazy shopping spree. We already had all of the Chip n Dale DVDs. I can’t wait for the Gummi Bears DVD to come in. I already have it on my holds list so I can be the first to check it out.


Leave a Reply

