It’s Raining….Lindsay looks back.

Well, it’s actually not raining outside – it’s gorgeous outside.  But it’s raining in this video…

For some reason I think that this guy, Rain – a Korean super star – is like the most influential person in the world or something…  I could actually research this, but I prefer not to.  I think it was the Colbert Report a couple of months ago, I believe Stephen even made a video of himself doing the Rain thing…but…I could be wrong.  I remember when I was first introduced to Rain 2 years ago in California.  I personally thought that Rain was a little lame since part of the song’s lyrics is “Go Rain, it’s your birthday.”  So when I first saw the video for this song, I was kind of like…didn’t we do that like 10 years ago here in America?  And the only reason I was introduced to it was because my friend Mei Chi was obsessed with Korean boys (seriously, we spent like an hour stalking one Korean boy in particular at the Spring Festival ’06 at the I House…I have the pictures to prove it).  But I guess now he’s an international super star, and I’ve just been a bit slow on recognizing it.

Now that I’ve been writing about Korean boys, I remember one of the grad students who worked in my lab at LBNL who was from Korea.  His name was Yong Bong (no joke) and I think he was doing something with batteries…I’m not sure.  He was really nice to me – I helped him with his english by letting him know when I couldn’t understand him and he gave me these green tea wafer cookies from Korea…they were pretty good cookies.  He was an interesting guy.  There was another grad student in that lab too, but he wasn’t from Korea.  I believe he was from a suburb of Chicago, but he was super jaded and had lots of piercings.  But he was nice too – he talked to me a lot about the ups and downs of grad school, and he introduced me to Sudoku.

Looking back on my time in California, I think I can now fully appreciate it for what it was.  At the time I pretty much hated it – it’s really hard to live in a building with a bunch of students who have to do homework when you don’t.  It was hard to make friends, and it was lonely to sit in a lab all day knowing that pretty much anyone could have done what you were doing and that you weren’t really accomplishing anything on your own agenda.  But now I realize that I did get a lot out of it.  First off, I realized I didn’t want to go into graduate school – working in a lab by yourself sucks.  Now I also realize that I was put way out of my comfort zone – and I coped with it.  I was for the first time cut off from friends and family – I couldn’t go home whenever I wanted, I couldn’t call home whenever I wanted, I didn’t have a car so I had to rely on public transit, everyone was a stranger so I had to make judgement calls on who to trust, etc.  I love it when I realize things that can be answers to interview questions.

Eek, it’s almost time for my lab – I gots to go.

<3, lindsayd.

2 Responses to “It’s Raining….Lindsay looks back.”


  1. 1 ngtamber April 23, 2008 at 12:08 am

    I love when things are like huge in other parts of the world, and I have never heard of them. I can pretend that I’m a hermit and the USA is my cave. And you all are welcome for me allowing you to live in my cave with me even though it is against hermit code.

  2. 2 ngtjennifer April 23, 2008 at 5:10 pm

    oooooh, I totally feel like a hermit most of the time!


Leave a Reply

