Girls! you are making me freak out! Fight back, dang it!

For Girls, It’s Be Yourself, and Be Perfect, Too

Just read this article from the New York Times, published on April 1st—oh gosh, I wish it was a joke. I am so on the verge of an anxiety attack.

I am never never never raising daughters (or sons for that matter) in the Northeast!!!! Although, I have a scary suspicion that this psycho-perfect syndrome is spreading throughout the country. Maybe I am just judging it because I obviously would have been lowest on the totem pole there–but really, quoting Sartre in high school??? I don’t quote Sartre now–and probably never will. I prefer to quote Lindsay or Lenny from That Thing You Do! My head exploded just trying to figure out how they do the things they do–a million AP classes (which are bull anyway, don’t get me started on that–College classes are FOR COLLEGE), captains of all sports that ever existed, being ideal church girls, working part-time jobs, applying to every college in the world, saving whales, and finding a new boyfriend each year (omg–I love how they can just decide not to have a boyfriend this year— as if boyfriends were served in the lunch line: “No, thanks–I’m cutting back” now this may show my naivete when it comes to high school dating, because I did very little of it, but I didn’t know dating was planned–I thought it happened, you know, when you met somebody and liked them?).

This is not a life!!! CMON GIRLS–FIGHT BACK!!!!!

Why are we letting them make us think we have to be perfect to get into college? Why is college the end-all anyway? Somebody needs to let high school girls (and junior high girls now, too–::shutter:: did you read the part about these girls beginning Latin in 7th grade to improve their SAT scores???!! now latin is cool–but TAKE IT BECAUSE YOU LIKE IT, not for some score that only matters for .2 seconds.) that college really isn’t that big of a deal. Now, yes, it is good to go. But I really don’t think where you go matters all that much if you are passionate about learning. These girls are whining about having to do all these activities to get into college—but what they really mean is “to get into a really expensive college who’s name will look good on a diploma.” If they really don’t care about being successfully rich due to an Ivy League education (which several of them claim) then stop worrying and happily say “hello, state schools!” I am all for girls being independent, ambitious, and educated–but I just can’t help but feel that these girls are not really after their own goals–instead it seems like we are witnessing a visit to London Society in one of Jane Austen’s novels where ladies must be rich/beautiful/perfect or die an old maid. Wasn’t feminism supposed to get us past this? These girls need to watch more Golden Girls and Murder, She Wrote.

amberj.

4 Responses to “Girls! you are making me freak out! Fight back, dang it!”


  1. 1 jobonga April 16, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    And My So-Called Life.

  2. 2 ngtamber April 17, 2008 at 10:59 am

    and Veronica Mars

  3. 3 ngtamber April 17, 2008 at 10:59 am

    and the BBC version of Pride and Prejudice

  4. 4 rooneyreverb April 21, 2008 at 2:47 am

    Hmmm, that is a rather alarming article. I think I’ll keep it away from my missus – she worries about that sort of stuff enough as it is, and we don’t even live in the States!

    Oh, and I gotta tag you, although my HTML seems to be a tad deficient, in that it ain’t working… TAG.


Leave a Reply

