Jinx! You owe me a Coke (aka a pop, not a soda).

I just finished listening to Meg Cabot’s book, Jinx yesterday night.  I loved it.  Even though Meg Cabot’s books are all pretty much the same plot – girl meets hot boy, girl gets hot boy in the end, except with different charactres and different settings and circumstances – I never get tired of it.  Jinx (aka Jean Honeychurch), is about a girl who moves in with her aunt and uncle in NYC to escape a situation in her hometown: Hancock, Iowa.  Hot boy = Zack Rosen.  I’m going to ruin it and let you know that Jinx and Zack get together in the end….but then again if you have ever read a Meg Cabot book, the ending was already spoiled for you.  I did have 2 problems with the book.  #1: She called pop soda.  It’s like a big Midwest thing that we call it POP.  We all know this.  There are exceptions, but I’m pretty sure that almost every single person in the state of Iowa calls it pop.  And Meg should have known that one.  The only other problem I had with this book (which I probably wouldn’t have had had I read it instead of listened to it) was that the boy from Iowa (I cannot remember his name off hand) had an accent.  I was a bit offended – why did you do that reader?  Why?  The reader voiced “Iowa boy” as a southern farm boy.  What?  It’s true.  I hope Meg Cabot didn’t have any say in that one.  I hope she listened to it and went – why did she do that?  That’s not what I was going for.  Oh well though.  Creative license I guess.  That’s all for now – must focus on homework.  Blurgh.

<3, lindsayd.

5 Responses to “Jinx! You owe me a Coke (aka a pop, not a soda).”


  1. 1 gillian August 15, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    Hey
    i read that book and i love it i have read it about ten times.
    My fav series by meg cabot is the mediator series it always keeps you on your toes

    From Gillian

  2. 2 ami September 13, 2008 at 10:00 am

    noooooooooooooo way air head is the beat DURRRR

  3. 3 ngtlindsay September 13, 2008 at 5:06 pm

    I think I am an equal opportunity Meg Cabot lover. Although to be honest, I never did get into Queen of Babble…but now that they might make a movie out of it, and Kristen Bell is supposedly going to play the main role…I think maybe I better read the books.

  4. 4 Alissa October 26, 2008 at 11:01 am

    THE BOOK JINX RULZ!!!!!!!! OMG BEST BOOK IN HISTORY!! Meg Cabot’s books RULE!!!

  5. 5 Kaitlyn December 4, 2009 at 3:41 am

    JINX rules. And by how Jean disribed Zack, I would have a crush on him too. I guess he was hot. And I was getting a crush on a story character! 😀


Leave a Reply

