Fictional Characters I Would Date: Part Four

Partially inspired by the fact that this movie was on tv yesterday:

Lenny from “That Thing You Do”

Now the other boys in the band might be cuter in the traditional sense of the word, but Lenny has always been my favorite.  I totally think he would make the perfect boyfriend.  He is in a band (duh!), plays a mean guitar, can sing lead as well as harmony (see “Dance With Me Tonight“).  He also manages to look adorable with his blond hair all formed into a helmet.  He wouldn’t take things too seriously, and he would be so happy to have a girl actually pay attention to him that he would treat me like a queen.  Plus, I adore Steve Zahn and everything that he is.

But the best thing about Lenny is that everytime he opens his mouth he says something funny.  Sometimes he doesn’t even have to say anything, his mere presence makes me laugh out loud.  Some of his more memorable moments are playing Go Fish with some old guys, pretending to play the saxophone in a major motion picture, and “it’s the O-Nedders.”

No matter who your favorite is, (Guy, Jimmy, Lenny, or ‘the bass player) I highly recommend that everyone re-visit this movie.  I always forget how awesome it is until I see it again and then it makes me all happy and giddy.  Here is my favorite part of the whole movie (and one of my favorite Lenny bits), when they first hear their song on the radio.  The quality isn’t the best, but the point comes across.

Also, if you are interested in this type of thing, I found this website that has a very fun looking “game” to play whilst watching the movie.

Jen

4 Responses to “Fictional Characters I Would Date: Part Four”


  1. 1 ngtamber April 7, 2008 at 2:01 pm

    OMG–you just completely made my day!!!! I watched That Thing You Do yesterday, too, and I had forgotten how obsessed I was with it and with Lenny!!! (I quote lines from Lenny all the time, like “you gotta be quick with me, I’m from Erie, PA,” and nobody ever gets them) um, I think this proves that you do need to come with me to the Beatles 60’s Dance Party in August. . .

  2. 2 ngtamber April 7, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    I do think the bass player is adorable, too.

  3. 3 ngtjennifer April 7, 2008 at 9:17 pm

    Oh Lenny…..he does have some amazing quotes. And I do agree that the bass player is so cute………I was so in love with him when he was in “A Far Off Place” with Reese Witherspoon.

    We will have to see about the Dance Party. I might see what my sister feels like doing cuz I don’t want to leave her by her lonesome.

  4. 4 Jill April 8, 2008 at 8:35 am

    Good choice, but I think I’d have to go with Guy.
    That clip is the first thing I stumbled across when I caught the movie on tv a few weeks ago. I forgot how fun it is. I need to watch the WHOLE thing again soon!


Leave a Reply

