Body Image

I had to watch a Dove Real Beauty film and respond to it for one of my assignments for Aerobics (Amber had to too).  I just watched it and thought I would post it on the blog for your viewing pleasure.

I think by now we all know that the pictures we see in magazines and on billboards and whatever form of media you can think are digitally enhanced/touched up.  And even though we know that the pictures don’t reflect the truth, it doesn’t stop a lot of us from comparing ourselves to it.  I really have no idea why this is.  I admit that I do it all the time – I know that I’m not fat, and I think that I’m pretty cute – but when I see a picture of a model, I usually think to myself “She looks fabulous, I wish my legs (or arms, or waist or butt, etc.) looked like that.  Maybe I should work out more or change my diet (diet in the sense of food intake, not like “a diet”) or wear more makeup or spend more time on my hair.”  Now, I’m not the best motivator when it comes to putting myself on a workout plan or modifying my diet or spending time doing my hair and makeup, and that’s probably why I am the way I am.  So basically about 99% of the time, I feel really good about myself and the way I look.  It’s eerie the effect that a picture of someone who isn’t you can have on you.

But about the video – I think that seeing the process sped up instead of gradually really helped me realize just how much they did touch her up – first by doing her makeup and hair (those are obvious givens) and then on the computer with lengthening her neck (I shuddered at this!) and sculpting out her cheeks and shoulders and enlarging her eyes.  Oh, I’m real insecure about my eyes – my left one goes shut more than my right eye and I hate it!, plus I think they’re too small and squinty.

A really crazy thing about this video – even though it did bolster my self esteem – is that I still believe that there are those women out there who do look like the finished product, and therefore it is achievable.  I feel like I didn’t quite get the full message, but that’s not Dove’s fault.  I think they did a really good job and that they’re taking some really positive steps in a direction towards a kinder and more realistic body image for girls/women.  I think that I have just warped my sense of self so much that when I fall into my 1% time frame of not feeling fabulous it’s a really bad extreme of feeling fat ugly and not good enough to be seen in public.  Good thing I live with Amber who constantly tells me that I am/look fabulous (I need to tell her that more often, but I don’t because I feel like she’s just always fabulous and so that it would get a little repetitive to tell her).

So I thought that I would put some self esteem building tips at the end of this blog entry.  However, I was googling (OMG wordpress is telling me that googling is spelled incorrectly…and also wordpress… 😀 ) self esteem building tips and all I could find was some really lame stuff that just seems laughable.  So instead of using tips from the web, I’ll just make up some of my own.

Lindsay’s Self Esteem Builders / Mood Enhancers

Think about what you’re good at and go do it whenever you’re feeling like you can’t do something.  Even if the only thing you’re good at is reading – go read.

Have a dance break!

Call a friend up.

Coloring is super fun, so maybe you should go find a book and some crayons… I suggest Curious George or Strawberry Shortcake books, but you can choose others.

Listen to your favorite music.

Bake some brownies or cookies and share them with your family or friends.

Go for a run or do some other kind of exercise.

Do a math problem! (Note: This usually only works if you like math…)

Make silly faces at yourself in the mirror.

Pretend that you’re on the runway and strut!

There are of course many more things that you can do to make yourself feel better, and some of them you’ll just have to figure out on your own.  But I feel like I’ve given you a few good tips to start with.

<3, lindsayd.

3 Responses to “Body Image”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer February 24, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    It’s interesting that you have assignments in Aerobics class…….surprising.

  2. 2 Jill February 25, 2008 at 5:14 pm

    I love the Self Esteem Builders / Mood Enhancers, and I will totally be using them. Thanks!

  3. 3 nancy bruno February 25, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    I would love for you to check out The Beautiful Women Project (www.beautifulwomenproject.org) and our blog (www.beautifulwomenproject@blogspot.com – it is also a link on our web site)

    There are thirty five women in our project and book that are beautiful because of the way that the carry themselves and their life experiences. If you look to your left and to your right throughout your day tomorrow, I bet that you will see that there are so many beautiful women around you. You already see the beauty that is in front you in the mirror.

    Let me know what you think!


Leave a Reply

