Greatest (but possibly most dangerous) Architectural Design Ever

As a person who has problems going up and down normal stairs without tripping over my own feet, I find this rather scary, but so totally awesome at the same time:

What a perfect way to use a stairway, but my feet would have issues with the different sized steps. I definitely wouldn’t have problems filling up the shelves though.

To see the rest of the pics and the article about this innovative miracle of shelving go HERE.

Jen

6 Responses to “Greatest (but possibly most dangerous) Architectural Design Ever”


  1. 1 ngtamber February 19, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    ok so my ultimate dream in life is to have a library with a ladder that rolls along the shelves–but I will keep this as an option. Seeing cool things like that always makes me want to craft–no clue what the connection is because it’s not like I could tacky-glue anything like modern space-saving bookshelves (I usually make Christmas tree ornaments)

  2. 2 ngtjennifer February 19, 2008 at 10:24 pm

    Oh, the ladder on rollers!!!!! I have decided that I am going to have the library from “Beauty and the Beast” (the animated one) in my future house.

  3. 3 ngtamber February 19, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    ahhhh, me, too! ok, you just totally climbed into my head and rolled around in my daydreams! ug, I wish that movie hadn’t gone back into the vault because I would totally go to Target right now and buy the DVD now and watch it–hmmm wait a sec, brb………ok, Lindsay has her VHS version here, I’m good.

  4. 4 ngtlindsay February 20, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    I want both the bookcase ladder and the bookcase shelves you can walk up…..maybe I’ll just go live in a library.

  5. 5 Jill February 20, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    I discovered this a few days ago while researching for my blog. I’m considering it for my future library.
    http://www.likecool.com/Cave_Bookshelf–Store–Home.html

  6. 6 ngtjennifer February 20, 2008 at 7:38 pm

    I am gonna have to have a pretty big house if I am going to have the library stairs, rolling ladders, and cave bookshelves. I better start saving now!

    P.S. Amber, anytime I can make someone think about Beauty and the Beast I know I have made a difference in the world.


Leave a Reply

