Ugly and covered in slush–I need puppies and wine

I have just turned on Puppy Bowl 4 which Lindsay so kindly DVR’d for us this weekend.  Omigosh!  There is the cutest little scruffy guy being chased by the golden lab and husky.  These pups are really feisty this year! I had planned on being home in time to watch it, but that teeny little winter storm hit the midwest and my friends and I were stuck on I-74 going under 30 mph for the last 120 mile leg of our trip home from Indiana.  It was cool though–We sang “Grand Old Flag,” “Lean on Me” and rocked out to *NSYNC (I had totally forgotten how much “God Must Have Spent a Little More Time on You” made me feel all tingly inside). 

Anyway–I’m using the puppies and wine to dull the pain I received from learning a harsh lesson: Just because I am 23 does not mean that teenage boys will stop hurting my feelings.  Yes, today I had the ultimate sad NerdGirlMoment:  Walking home from the library, I had three young guys call me ugly and throw snowballs at me.  Seriously.  

Unfortunately, once again I was unable to channel the fierce wit of Veronica Mars and instead waited until they were out of earshot before beginning to cry.   Ug, yes, I cried.  I am a crier.  Maybe on a normal day I would have just felt bad, but today was icky and I was already on the verge of tears anyway.  Oh well, while I was taking the long way home and still crying off and on because I was feeling stupid and lame about crying I came up with a list of reasons my sensitivity can be considered a strength: 

1.  According to Facebook’s Compare Me app (an application that I deleted because I kinda think it is run by the Devil, nonetheless-) one of my top traits is that I’m a Good Listener–I think I can totally claim that that is due my ability to cry with people
2. When my friends take me with to pick out their wedding dress, they can easily tell which is “the one” by looking at my face.
3. Tears are good at getting stuff out of contacts.

That is all I’ve got so far.   

New Mantra: All NerdGirls are beautiful.  and should only have snowballs thrown at them when participating in a consensual snowball fight.  All NerdGirls are beautiful.  and should only have snowballs thrown at them when participating in a consensual snowball fight.

amberj.

P.S. Due to some health issues (no worries–I just have to take it easy for a bit.), this is probably going to be my only blog for the week or two, and you all are going to have wait a little longer for the next podcast (Booo, I know).  

Fight Stigma!  www.nami.org 

2 Responses to “Ugly and covered in slush–I need puppies and wine”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer February 6, 2008 at 4:33 pm

    Sometimes I can’t believe how mean people can be………I’m sorry that your day was so sucky. 😦

  2. 2 Cindy February 8, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    Don’t let what those morons said affect you. You control your feelings. I’m older and learned this the hard way…lol. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

