Best Thing Ever

peterrabbit.png

This is the best thing ever–or at least in the top 30 of best things.

YOU. CAN. FLIP. THE. PAGES!

The internet has finally caught up to the technology of the book! It freaks me out just a little on how real it looks–like I’m sitting here, but somewhere else I have a phantom hand doing my bidding. I hope when it isn’t turning pages, my phantom hand is off petting poor homeless puppies in Italy.

Click here to see the Iowa Digital Library’s first edition of the first printing of Peter Rabbit. Best thing ever. (side note: I still have not seen “Miss Potter” yet, very lame of me)

Or you can click here to see the British Library’s “Turning the Pages”–which includes such manuscripts as Jane Austen’s “The History of England,” sketchbooks of Leonardo Da Vinci and William Blake, and the original “Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland” written AND illustrated by Lewis Carroll. And I thought Robert Schwartzman in The Princess Diaries made me swoon.

Word on the street is that the technology that does this is cheap, too! If so, then whycome I am not turning the pages all over the internet!? (Although, it is possible that I misunderstood the word on the street) Nerd on!

amberj.

3 Responses to “Best Thing Ever”


  1. 1 Jill February 1, 2008 at 5:37 pm

    WOW! That IS the best thing ever. And so relevant to this week’s Resources to Children’s class! How on earth did you find this, and are there more books? Also, I’ve been meaning to ask you if you’ve been thinking any about your project for Children. I don’t think she’s put up an assignment sheet for it yet, but I’d love to do something digital-related…sort of like this lovely Peter Rabbit book. Thanks for sharing!

  2. 2 Woeful February 1, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    Recently, I saw this elsewhere… It is very cool!

  3. 3 ngtjennifer February 2, 2008 at 2:41 pm

    I love how it makes noises when you turn the pages!!!


Leave a Reply

