I am not amused

Dear boys that were working in the Library Cafe thing while I was buying my cherry coke yesterday:

I know I was not a part of your conversation, but you were talking so loudly and making eye contact with me that I assume you were aware I was listening.  Just in case my cold body language and piercing eye lasers didn’t get across my opinion (which would not surprise me, because I have a sneaking suspicion that I just looked kind of glazed over with a slight smile– my blood sugar was low), here is what I was thinking:

“Pick-up lines that suggest you are about to rape or sexually assault a woman  are neither a turn-on nor funny, so I would suggest that ‘no, you shouldn’t use that one in the bars tonight.’ Now I think a lot of inappropriate things are funny, and I’m sure Southpark could find a way to make me laugh about it.  But not you boys–you boys I am disappointed with. And I hope you never get laid.  And please refill the box of cowtails.” 

I wish I had said that aloud to you guys, but I didn’t. Instead I got all flustered and dropped my quarters into the basket of gum.  I hate that I allowed you to fluster me.  I also hate how I feel afraid every time I walk home after my night classes or a drink with my friends. Your lame joke was not even aimed at me, but you still managed to break down my self-worth just a little bit.  That sucks.  For you and for me. I promise to be more confident next time and tell you exactly how I feel.  

I think I shall go on a feminist binge now: 
Bust
Bitch
Ms.
feminist.com

I am Woman.
amberj.

3 Responses to “I am not amused”


  1. 1 jobonga January 25, 2008 at 1:03 am

    You are woman, Amber. Next time try to channel Veronica Mars.

  2. 2 ngtjennifer January 25, 2008 at 7:02 pm

    Yeah I know exactly what you mean…………there are some high school boys that come to the library and call me “Library Lady” in their obnoxious voices. They are totally rude and have no respect whatsoever, but as a public servant I can’t really tell them how I really feel.

  3. 3 Jill January 26, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    Go Amber! Even if you didn’t say it to them, getting it out via blogging is good. And I agree, channel Veronica Mars!


Leave a Reply

