Great Gatsby Chapters 6 & 7: The post in which Amber talks too much about Kate Moss

Hello hello! soooo I promised to do this post for Jill since I knew she had a big Oscar weekend (you know how we love her Best Picture Marathon posts. See here and here) and a Leap Year Vacay. And now it is Friday, and all those amazing comments I had about Chapters 6 & 7 have sorta withered away and I fear I will just end up talking about Kate Moss’ wedding.

How perfect are these! I did a search for "Daisy Buchanan crying" and this was one of the first results--dramatic, flashy, and stunning. and very sad.

So first lets throw out some discussion questions that are actually about chapters 6 & 7 (SPOILERS):

1. woooo how awkward was that trip into the city? Poor Nick. This reminds me of one of my friends from high school who’s boyfriend refused to take her to prom, so she asked another guy, and then her boyfriend did decide to go and asked another girl…and they all went together in the same limo. I know! (she totally ended up dating the other guy, too.)

2. Would Daisy have ever told Tom that she didn’t love him if Gatsby hadn’t rushed her into it? I think it is obvious that she DID love Tom, so in same way it sort of saves my opinion of her that she was conflicted with Gatsby’s demands on her.

3. Who was the most tragic figure during these two chapters? I lean towards Daisy…I want to say Myrtle, you know, because she died…but it is much harder for me to feel bad for Myrtle. She had a nice husband who she was cheating on, she was greedy and annoying, and she deliberately ran out in front of the car. Daisy was essentially being manipulated by two men she loved and then she accidentally kills a person while driving which would be HORRIBLE (yes, it was very bad that she drove away. and I suppose it could be argued that she hit Myrtle on purpose… except she didn’t know who Myrtle was…).

4. However, do you believe Gatsby that Daisy was the driver? Does it matter? Specifically, how does it affect your opinion of Daisy and Gatsby if she was driving vs if he was driving?

So why am I so quick to defend Daisy?

Because of Kate Moss’ wedding.

The wedding of the year

When Jill and Lindsay first starting talking about reading the Great Gatsby, the first brain spark I had was the warm, breezy, happy remembrance of reading about Kate Moss’ Wedding in the August 2011 Vogue. Something about this article has created a sunset within me–I had never really considered myself a big Kate Moss fan, but now I ADORE her. Kate’s look was actually inspired by Zelda Fitzgerald, not specifically Daisy…eh details mere details. So I just went into reading the book feeling connected to Daisy.

Actually, the whole time we’ve been reading this story, I find myself spending less time figuring out how I feel about characters and more time on why I feel what I feel about them. I am pretty sure my views on Nick’s sexuality come from courses I took as an English major–a course on Oscar Wilde and the Asthetes, and a Transnational Detective Fiction course with a focus on books featuring homosexual characters in Spanish-speaking countries. In addition, I read a book about a month ago titled The Scrapbook of Frankie Pratt: A Novel in Pictures by Caroline Preston which makes several references to Fitzgerald as Frankie’s favorite author and features a very Nick-like man who dates Miss Pratt while having a man-on-the-side. Downton Abbey has also had a big effect on my friendly feelings for Nick. Sigh, oh Matthew! I think if Jen or Lindsay had seen Downton Abbey, that they would probably argue with my comparison between Nick and Matthew. And I agree that their personalities are quite different, however, it is their circumstances that mirror just a bit. World War 1, rich relatives, getting pulled into family drama, sensitive, good listeners :-)

and the connections in my head go on and on…I just had one right now–why do I even question that Daisy was the driver of the car? that answer lives in what I am watching right now: Murder, She Wrote. Yup, Jessica Fletcher and Agatha Christie have me trained to always question a suspicious death.

and now LETS DISCUSS!

2 Responses to “Great Gatsby Chapters 6 & 7: The post in which Amber talks too much about Kate Moss”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer March 5, 2012 at 10:15 pm

    Ooooh, are those things in the picture earrings? That would be so awesome!

    It was soooo awkward to read about the trip to the city. I did find it very funny that Tom got so upset about Daisy and Gatsby “flaunting” their feelings when he had no problems leaving every meal to go talk on the phone with his “girl in the city.” Stupid Tom, I hate him so much.

    This is when Gatsby really starts to lose it and I lose all respect for him as a character. He flips out in front of not only Daisy, but her husband and friends?? It’s like he spent the last several years so tightly wound and he completely snaps.

    I think that he is asking way too much of Daisy to make her say she never loved Tom. He is basically just being a selfish jerk. During these last few chapters I really do feel bad for Nick. All his friends are terrible, horrible people and it’s almost like he finally realizes just how awful they are.

    I love the fact that you question who was really driving the car. I guess I never would have thought of that, but Jessica Fletcher would have :)

  2. 2 ngtlindsay March 5, 2012 at 11:30 pm

    OK, man, I am so glad I don’t have friends like these guys! They are so so terrible! I don’t understand why Nick keeps hanging out with them! That dinner party was terrible, the trip into the city was terrible! Everything was terrible! Exclamation point! But I did want a mint julep (virgin, of course) really badly while reading about the trip.
    As to your second question, I think maybe Daisy might have told Tom she never loved him. But not because Gatsby wanted her to, and maybe even if Gatsby had never reappeared in her life. I think she might have to hurt Tom because he’s like the biggest douche nozzle there is. She might have been lying, because I do truly think that she at one point in her life loved him. If Gatsby hadn’t have urged her to say it, she might have said it on her own at one point or another. But then Gatsby pushed her and she actually thought about it.
    Third: tragic figure. I hate them both. But this is kind of hard to think about because if I think that Daisy was being manipulated by Tom and Gatsby, then I have to admit that Daisy is weak, and I don’t necessarily think she is. On the one hand, I do feel sorry for Myrtle because she did die pretty horribly. But then again, she did run out to the car. It’s not like she was expecting to get run over because she thought it was Tom and she thought he would stop and save her. But quite honestly, that’s almost as bad as deliberately throwing yourself in front of a car. I agree with Amber – Myrtle was greedy and annoying. But I also think the same of Daisy. I guess I’m going to have to go with Myrtle was the more tragic one just because she died.
    And I think that Daisy was driving the car. I think that Gatsby really loves Daisy so much and he wants to protect her. I think he was in shock from the accident and if he had been thinking straight, he would have claimed he was driving from the beginning. I don’t believe he would want anything to ever happen to Daisy.
    I also agree with Jen about Gatsby. How despicable he is. I still think Tom is worse, but Gatsby certainly brought himself down to Tom’s level.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

