Cake in a Cup Recipe!

So yeah, I called it. 1 hour left to go on Day 2 and here I am. Again.

That’s what happens when you: get up late, have dance practice, costume shopping with dance mates, a sunny day, Jasper Fforde to read, and Final Four games going on. Also I’m just lazy and I procrastinate a lot.

So here is a nice little cake recipe that you can make super quick! It seemed like the right time to do this post since I’m intending to post in less than 5 minutes. My mom gave this recipe to me, although I am fairly sure she said she got it out of the local newspaper, so maybe Amber has this recipe too! Oh! And this is the first time I’ve ever seen a recipe for cake in a mug that didn’t involve an egg! YES! Because using an egg? That’s a little too close to baking for my lazy hiney.

Take 1 box of angel food cake mix. It MUST be angel food. Take another box of cake mix. This one cane be ANY kind of cake mix you want – yellow, chocolate, funfetti. I chose devil’s food cake just because I was indecisive and thought it was funny.

Pour your cake mixes into one big ziploc gallon bag. Close the bag and then shake shake shake! Shake up your cake mixes until it is so well mixed that you can’t even tell that there are two mixes in there. It should look like one mix.

Now take 1/3 cup of your cake mixture and put it in a microwave safe mug. Add 3 tablespoons of water. Mix it up so that it’s all smooth and there are no clumps. Microwave for 1 minute. And that’s it!

Now enjoy your hopefully yummy cake! And also, you have a ton of cake mix left over so you can make multiple cakes! I took my bag of cake mix to work and have been eating cake EVERY SINGLE DAY for the past week. I’m not even halfway done with the bag. Which is kind of sad because I realized that I’m not the biggest fan of devil’s food cake. But I like it enough so that I can’t justify getting rid of any leftover mix. Actually, I do really enjoy the cake when I have milk with it. Yuuuuuuummmmmm, it is DELICIOUS with a nice carton of milk from the hospital cafeteria! When I finally do finish my bag of mix, I’m going to use a fudge chocolate cake mix I think. Or maybe funfetti – OMG I looooooooove funfetti cake!  But I think for a daily cake fix, chocolate fudge is THE way to go.

<3s! Cake Lindsay

P.S. Dear nerdgirls, what is your favorite kind of cake? And when I say nerdgirls, I mean: Amber, Jen, Jill, and anyone else who reads this blog (aka Diana and possibly Sheila?)  :)

17 Responses to “Cake in a Cup Recipe!”


  1. 1 ngtjennifer April 3, 2011 at 12:11 am

    I LOVE cakes made in mugs! This recipe is perfect for gals like me who can’t eat a whole cake all at once. I think I will try this with funfetti!

  2. 2 ngtjill April 3, 2011 at 12:01 pm

    Delicious! Can’t wait to try this. Chocolate cake is always my fave, but when you mentioned funfetti I got excited too. :)

  3. 3 Sheila April 4, 2011 at 8:37 pm

    Ooh, I like lemon cake! Mmmm…
    Oh, and for some latin flavor, how ’bout a good tres leches cake! Double mmm…

    P.S. Thanks for the personal shout out. I totally read the blog, daily now b/c it’s BEDA! :)

  4. 4 Amber April 4, 2011 at 8:58 pm

    Nerdgirls get to see Sheila this weekend!!!

  5. 6 ohio mom October 25, 2011 at 2:07 pm

    we were going for a mocha falvor, and substituted the water with coffee in chocolate cake…oh my!, very tasty.

  6. 7 Sherrie January 28, 2012 at 1:45 am

    Thank you for the recipe. A friend gave this one to me and she passed away and I couldn’t remember how. So thanks. The only thing I remembered was the angel food cake mix that is used with only water. Thanks again.

  7. 8 Debbie February 19, 2012 at 6:55 pm

    Any ideas how many calories per cup?

    • 9 Doti R February 20, 2012 at 9:20 pm

      Debbie I just read this as a weightwatchers item and its 4 points, at 50 a point. But they use a sugar free cake mix. also saw it done with diet soda. I am looking forward to trying it. Just mixed up the cakes. i to bought the devils food…

  8. 10 Carol Peterson March 19, 2012 at 6:30 pm

    I’d seen this recipe, but couldn’t find it. When I googled angel food cake mix in a cup, I got your blog. I just made it with white cake because I ate some strawberries with it. It was very good. And it just doesn’t get any easier. So, I just wanted to thank you for posting it.

  9. 11 Valerie G. Jones March 23, 2012 at 11:10 am

    I made this and used orange cake mix. It only took about 30 seconds in my microwave to make a moist tidbit. I did use a wide bottom mug and the cake was about 3/4 inch thick. It tasted somewhat like a moist spongy baby aspirin, but I loved it!

  10. 12 Laura Redeker July 18, 2012 at 8:11 pm

    Thanks for sharing! can’t wait to pass this one on!

  11. 13 Connie October 30, 2012 at 9:14 am

    Does it matter if it is pudding in the cake mix or not?

  12. 14 Diane Doll December 5, 2012 at 1:44 pm

    used the sugar free Duncan Hines Devil food alone ..no angel food because couldn’t find sugar free. Added 1/4 cup Libby’s Pure pumpkin and pumpkin pie spices with a teaspoon of chopped walnuts.. Really delicious as well as nutritious. Can top with whipped cream in the can…less than 1 gr of sugar and 1 gram of fat. Just watch the measurement.

  13. 15 Dorothy February 7, 2013 at 8:56 pm

    tried it with the 1 box of angel food & 1 box of red velvet ….was wonderful ! It’s going to be great for after school or bedtime snacks for my g/grand-babies….
    Thank You for sharing !

  14. 16 Deborah McConnell March 20, 2013 at 3:06 am

    My sister originally posted this recipie on her fb page and i thought hey this would be perfect for my husband when he needs his chocolate fix! I hsve to admit that when i took the cup out after the 1 minute the smell hit me and i was like eww it stinks but it does taste wonderful. I think it is just cause of i am not a fan of angel food cake.
    Great for my hubs and easy too so he can make it when he wants.

  15. 17 beah07 March 24, 2013 at 3:01 pm

    Thanks SO much for the WW point conversion!! I just made it and was wondering about the points.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

