Picture Books featuring Lester Dog

image from the picture book Snook Alone

I have decided that I want to start collecting books that remind me of Lester Dog! I haven’t actually bought any yet…but here are a few I am considering :-)


Laika
by Nick Abadzis

Wonderful graphic novel about sweet Laika, the Russian space dog. But as you may know, there is no happy ending–for the last few pages, I grabbed Lester and sobbed and sobbed and sobbed. My face was still puffy the next day from all the crying.

Snook Alone
by Marilyn Nelson & Timothy Basil Ering

This is my little Lester Dog! If he lived on an island with a Hermit Monk! The story is very poetic and spiritual, and yes I cried in this one, too, especially when Snook kept hearing the monk’s voice in the ocean–but there is a happy ending so half the tears were tears of joy! One of those books that just hovers around me for awhile and makes me want to live simpler and take more adventures.

Dog in Boots
by Greg Gormley & Roberta Angaramo

Adorable story about a Lester Dog trying to find the right pair of shoes for all his scratching and playing needs. And paws play an important role in this book, and I heart puppy paws!


When Jack Goes Out
by Pat Schories

Seriously, how cute is Jack?!! I love wordless stories–I kinda feel like reading one is akin to meditating somehow. This is the only Jack book I have read thus far, so I am not sure if all are sans-words.


10 Little Hot Dogs
by John Himmelman

This is a story about dachshunds, not Lester Dogs, but the wiggling and yawning and ear-flapping is so spot-on! I love this book, so don’t listen to the weird, bad review on Amazon for it–that reviewer must have written that on opposite day. (that was the nicest way I could say that the reviewer must have HORRIBLE TASTE because this book is SO CUTE)

–Amber *BEDA 1

P.S. Did you see that they finally cast Peeta for the Hunger Games movie?! Check it out HERE :-)

3 Responses to “Picture Books featuring Lester Dog”


  1. 1 ngtjill April 1, 2011 at 11:03 pm

    Aww Lester! What a great idea.

  2. 2 ngtjennifer April 2, 2011 at 1:56 am

    These all look fabulous!!! I think I have Snook Alone on my list to buy for the library.

    I have never read Laika because I’m pretty sure I would be traumatized for the rest of my life. After hearing about your reaction, I know now that I made the right decision.

    P.S. One of the things you should do this month is post pics of Lester. Especially if he is in a cute outfit.

  3. 3 ngtlindsay April 2, 2011 at 2:51 pm

    PUPPIES!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

