My First Cat Video!!

I currently live in a very old building.  And when I say old, I mean OLD.  It is an awesome place that is really large and has a lot of “character” but there are some not-so-great things about it.  One of the worst is that there are no doors separating the rooms (except the bathroom, thankfully).  This has not really been a problem in the past, but now that I have four cats who HATE each other, it is sometimes necessary to separate them.

I thought it would be easy to just go get a door somewhere, but apparently that is next to impossible with a funny shaped door frame from the 1800s.  So here is what I have devised as a solution:

It is two baby gates on top of each other, the top one being upside down (this is so the bar doesn’t hit me in the tummy all the time).  It is the most hideous thing in the world, but it appears to be working so far.  The reason for the blankets and bubble wrap is that Hermione got stuck in the bars after it was up for only 10 minutes.  I worked really hard to make the bottom gate look nice (rock on, Miss Shortcake!!) but by the time I got to the top one I was feeling pretty lazy.

So, now that you know the story, here is a video of what happened the other day when Addie and Hermione were in the bedroom being punished for attacking poor Pippi and Penelope.

That was my first attempt at iMovie since library school, so I need a lot more practice, but I think it turned out okay-ish.

Jen

3 Responses to “My First Cat Video!!”


  1. 1 ngtlindsay March 8, 2011 at 11:42 am

    Adorable to the max. More cat videos! Please!

  2. 2 Diana March 8, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    I’m digging your door, especially the salute to Strawberry Shortcake. :)

    Since you’re a cat owner, I thought you’d get a kick out of this.

    http://mediumlarge.wordpress.com/2011/03/07/excerpts-from-i-could-pee-on-this-and-other-poems-by-cats/

  3. 3 ngtjennifer March 8, 2011 at 11:18 pm

    I am a little alarmed because when I came home tonight Addie and Hermione were running free even though I put them in the bedroom. I am hoping I just didn’t close the gate tight enough, because if they figured out how to get out, I am screwed.

    I love the poems Diana! Here is one I wrote about my cat Pippi, based on a poem from the website.

    Drool, drool, drool.
    Drool, drool, drool.
    Drool, drool, Hey,
    Why is your shirt all wet?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

