My Super Bowl Sunday

I am actually a big football fan myself, but this year I did not watch one minute of the Super Bowl.  I have a deep, burning hatred of the Pittsburgh Steelers, so I was pretty sure that watching the game would be too painful.  Apparently I missed a really great game (GO PACKERS!), Xtina messing up the anthem, and a sub par halftime show.  But I don’t care that I missed it because I was having a wonderful girls’ day with my mom.

First, we went to see The King’s Speech, which is very, very good.  Colin Firth is unbelievably awesome as Bertie (or King George VI) and Helena Bonham Carter is phenomenal as his wife Elizabeth.  We both enjoyed the movie and shed a few tears at the end.

Then we went to Steak and Shake and I had a very yummy grilled cheese sandwich, fries, and a Butterfinger shake.  I’m pretty sure that would be my last meal request if I was ever on death row (I know I can’t be the only one who has ever thought about that).

But the best part of the whole day happened while we were watching the BBC Sally Hawkins version of Persuasion.  During the movie, we made Chocolate Chip Oreo Cookie Sandwiches.  That’s right, you read that correctly.  It is basically an oreo inside a chocolate chip cookie.  Here is a picture that is totally drool-worthy.

 

*drool drool drool*

I found the recipe on the blog The Picky Palate, which has an overabundance of fun cookie recipes to try.  Needless to say, the cookies turned out amazing and they are HUGE!  They are like little mountains of chocolate-y Oreo goodness.  They are perfect after being warmed in the microwave for about 20 seconds and served with 2 glasses of milk (you will literally need two).

The only downfall of the recipe is that it only makes about 24 cookies.  With my mom taking home half of them to share with my dad and sis, that did not leave a whole lot for me.  I am currently rationing them so I only eat one cookie a day.  Hopefully that will allow me to hold out until I go home in two weeks and we can make them again.  I think next time we will try to use mint Oreos and mint chocolate chips.  Or maybe peanut butter Oreos and peanut butter chips.  The possibilities are endless!

To get the recipe for these awesome cookies, go to The Picky Palate.  Happy baking!

Jen

4 Responses to “My Super Bowl Sunday”


  1. 1 ngtlindsay February 7, 2011 at 9:37 pm

    *drools*

  2. 2 Abby February 7, 2011 at 10:31 pm

    That sounds like the best Sunday ever!
    And I thought the half-time show was better than others in recent years. But that might be because I really love that one Black Eyed Peas song about tonight being a good night. :)

  3. 3 Diana February 8, 2011 at 12:32 am

    Loved The King’s Speech. I’m particularly fond of Geoffrey Rush.

  4. 4 ngtjennifer February 9, 2011 at 1:43 pm

    Geoffrey Rush WAS amazing!! That whole movie was so good!

    And Abby, I haven’t really seen the halftime show, I just read somewhere that there were some sound issues or something near the beginning. I also do enjoy that one Black Eyed Peas song :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

