Best Part of Any DVD

I love movies.  If I find one I like, I go see it over and over again in the theater and then immediately buy it on DVD when it comes out.  I also have an obsession where I can’t just buy the DVD, I have to buy the “Special Edition” that comes with extra discs containing goodness knows what.  It doesn’t even matter if it is just an impulse buy of a movie I kind of like, I have to get the fanciest version.

The reason I have to do this is because I love watching the extra features of movies (sometimes even more than the actual film).  I love behind-the-scenes documentaries and especially commentaries.  But the best part of any DVD is by far the blooper reel.  A good blooper reel can tell you more about what it is like to be on a movie set than any other part of the DVD.  What are the actors like when they mess up?  Can they laugh at themselves?  How do they act around their co-stars?  These are all things that can be learned from a great blooper reel.

One of the things I don’t like in blooper reels is endless takes of actors deliberately flubbing lines to make everyone laugh…..that just isn’t amusing to me.  I like to see people falling down, props malfunctioning, and people laughing at the chaos of making a film.

Two of my favorite blooper reels come from the Narnia movies.  I love that they include the actors and the crew.  It also seems like everyone is having a really good time working on the movies.

Here, for your viewing pleasure, are the blooper reels from The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe and Prince Caspian.

I think I like the Prince Caspian one better because so many people fall over…..I’m not sure what it is about people falling over, but I just can’t seem to stop giggling when it happens!

Jen

5 Responses to “Best Part of Any DVD”


  1. 1 Orange May 23, 2010 at 11:24 am

    As a film major I like looking at the deleted scenes to figure out why it was cut from the final product along with the commentary by the directors and performers.

  2. 2 Abby May 23, 2010 at 2:14 pm

    That’s my favorite part of DVDs, too!!!
    And you’re right – I love all the people falling over. :)

  3. 3 Amber June 1, 2010 at 9:52 pm

    ohhhh I had never seen the blooper reels from the Narnia movies! adore.

    I must be honest…I do not usually watch the extra features unless I am really bored. But I have repeatedly watched the extras on the Princess Diaries DVD :-) I have also been told by a fellow nerdgirl librarian that the extra features on the BBC’s Emma are fantastic–especially the one about the costumes.

  4. 4 ngtjennifer June 2, 2010 at 12:17 pm

    Ooooh, the Princess Diaries DVD is really great! I love to listen to the commentary by Anne Hathaway and Julie Andrews where they have high tea. I don’t think it is on every DVD though, I have the special edition.


  1. 1 Video Sunday « A Fuse #8 Production Trackback on June 20, 2010 at 11:03 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

