Totally Awesome Fish Alert!

Today at work, I spent the last few minutes searching the interwebs for pictures of weird ocean animals to hide around the library.  Last year we hid funny Mona Lisa pictures throughout the building and the kids loved it!  Since this year’s summer reading theme is water, I decided to do the funny sea creatures.  I found ten really weird animals and I am psyched.

The cutest one I’ve found is the dumbo octopus.  Isn’t he so precious???

I just want to tickle his little ears!!!

But the coolest fish I have found was on the website Weird Sea Monsters (which is great by the way….check out the piglet squid…..it gives Dumbo a run for his money).  It is called the barreleye fish and it is nothing short of amazing.  Just look at this picture!

It doesn't even look real!!!

It has a freakin’ transparent head!!!  Apparently this picture is of the first live specimen ever found.  It is an elusive little guy.  I think I am so fascinated by it because it kind of looks like it has a human face.  Doesn’t it look like a baby??  The things that look like eyes are not actually its eyes, they are noses (I think).  The eyes are somewhere in the transparent dome thingy.  Go to the website and watch the video and you will probably understand it better than me.

I love that I get to discover things like this all in a day’s work.  I can’t wait to talk about it to the kids this summer!

Jen

P.S.  I find it interesting that the pic was taken in 2004, but just now released to the public…..I wonder what else scientists are hiding from us……Nessie perhaps?

6 Responses to “Totally Awesome Fish Alert!”


  1. 1 erin May 11, 2010 at 8:35 am

    I am showing Gus this website. He will love it! he keeps telling me he wants to be an oceanographer/deep sea diver when he grows up :)
    thanks for posting,
    Erin (Sehorn)

  2. 2 ngtjennifer May 11, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    I can’t stop going back to the site and looking at all the cute critters! I hope Gus likes it too!

  3. 3 Sheila May 20, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    I’m sad that BEDA is over, because now I don’t get to read exciting Nerd Girl blogs very much! :(

  4. 5 ngtjennifer May 20, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    I would probably be blogging more, but my internet has stopped working completely at home……stupid internet.

  5. 6 Katie January 12, 2012 at 8:34 pm

    Love the Dumbo Octopus


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

