What Fictional Names Are Your Favorite?

I just read this little post on EW that linked to the newest update on popular baby names.  Apparently, parents are naming their kids after their favorite characters in books, tv shows, and movies.  Pretty soon the world will be teaming with Sookies, Bellas, and Renesmes.  *Shudder*  If you actually name your child Renesme, I’m sorry but I can’t be your friend.

I do not plan to have kids, but I always notice cool names when I am reading and think, “Hmmm, that would make a good name for a pet.”  I have my two cats right now, but in the future I hope to have another hamster, a dog and maybe two more cats.  I am obviously not opposed to using fictional character names since I have a cat named Hermione and had a hamster named Buffy (may she rest in peace).

Here are some of the names I am holding onto for the future.

Jacob Remus for a dog (from Twilight and Harry Potter)

Toot and Puddle for two cats (from the Holly Hobby picture books)

Rochester or Chester for short for a hamster (from Jane Eyre)

Dug for a dog (from Up)

Temp for a hamster or cat (from Gregor the Overlander)

Some of these names are kind of out there, but I figure that I am allowed a little more freedom with my pets than people are with their kids.  (Seriously, if you name your kid Renesme, they WILL hate you.)

What fictional names would you use for your children/pets?

Jen

RIP Buffy

10 Responses to “What Fictional Names Are Your Favorite?”


  1. 1 anacoqui April 10, 2010 at 7:01 pm

    We have a eight year old, Arwen. My husband and I come from very different backgrounds (I am Puerto Rican, he is Dutch-Canadian) yet The Lord of Rings Books were among our favorite books, a love for literature is something we share. Since we loved the books, the name was pretty, with a nice meaning it ended up on our short-list. We did give her a very normal middle name if she ever wanted to ditch the name we gave her (she loves it though). People tried to call her Irwin early on, but after the movies came out, we stopped getting that. Our runner up name for her was also from a book, Bronwen from How Green was my Valley, the first book he read on my recommendation.

  2. 2 Abby April 10, 2010 at 8:08 pm

    I actually live in fear that my favorite names will be character names in something popular, resulting in them being used by thousands of people and becoming less unique. And I will also say that I get a kick out of using crazy names for the characters in my books (NaNoWriMo books, that is) because I would never use them for actual children – I’ve had an Autumn, a Rafe, a Caleb (actually, I really like Caleb… I could name a kid Caleb), a Calder, a Prosper, and a Kier (among others).

    And holy wow. I just opened up all my past NaNovels to get those names and MAN they are terrible!!

  3. 3 Amber April 10, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    Steve and I want our first son to be named Atticus! so he will be a wise gentleman and teach us things… and I want a little scottie dog named Scout :-) and a weiner dog named Dill :-)

  4. 4 Amber April 10, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    P.S. that is the cutest pic of Buffy!

  5. 5 Amber April 10, 2010 at 9:06 pm

    Oh and Arwen is such a beautiful beautiful name!

  6. 6 Melody April 10, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    My sister and I pretty much ONLY name our pets after fictional characters! In fact, at this point, I wouldn’t dream of naming a pet a name other than after a fictional character.

    My dog is Felix, after Felix King in Road to Avonlea.

    My sister’s mice were all named after assistants in the show The West Wing: Bonnie, Ginger, Carol, Charlie, Delores, etc.

    My sister’s rats have been Dundie (The Office), Bluth (Arrested Development), John Oliver (The Daily Show… and okay, he’s a real person), Emerson (Pushing Daisies), Mosby (How I Met Your Mother), Arthur (Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy), and Ford (also Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy).

    Her hamsters were Olive (Pushing Daisies) and Pimento (Pushing Daisies).

    Even my sister’s fish have all been named after fictional characters. She has had three betta fish: Gus (Psych), Gilbert (Anne of Green Gables), and Maple (Remember WENN).

    And her goldfish have included Spencer (iCarly), Desmond (Lost), Jasper Dale (Road to Avonlea), Gob (Arrested Development), and Utivich (Inglourious Basterds).

    It’s a good thing we watch a bunch of TV and read a bunch of books, because obviously my sister likes to have animals around the house.

    We both have a shared love of the name Ned for a future son, and that is entirely due to the fact that two of our favorite male fictional characters ever were both named Ned: Ned Henry in To Say Nothing of the Dog and Ned the Piemaker in Pushing Daisies. Both of us are, I think, pretty serious about the hope that one day one of us will get to use the name Ned for a son. Most people give me a look of horror when I tell them that I love the name Ned, but that’s because they don’t associate the name with beloved fictional characters like I do!

    I also love the name Annelies, possibly as a middle name, but that wouldn’t be after a fictional character. It’s the full first name of Anne Frank, whose writing had a tremendous impact on me growing up (and today).

    But most of my other favored names for future children are names I like just because I like them. However, I really love the name Alice for a daughter and I’m afraid it’s going to get too popular to use thanks to Twilight.

  7. 7 ngtlindsay April 10, 2010 at 11:51 pm

    OK, I’m totally in love with the name Eloise because of the books! But I don’t know if I’ll use it. My sister (Andrea) claimed Madeleine.

    OMG I’M WATCHING SNL RIGHT NOW AND JUSTIN BIEBER’S HIPS LOOK BIG FOR SUCH A LITTLE BOY! WHAT WHAT WHAT!

  8. 8 ngtjennifer April 11, 2010 at 9:41 am

    Wow! All of you have such fantastic names already in use!!! I adore Arwen, Caleb, Atticus, Prosper, Eloise, and ALL of Melody’s Road to Avonlea names :)

    I agree with you Abby that it is a little scary when everybody starts using YOUR name and it gets to be too popular.

    I also really like the names Atreyu and Bastian from The Neverending Story, but I heard somewhere they are becoming popular too. Darn!

  9. 9 ngtjill April 11, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    Everyone’s name ARE awesome! Those are all the good ones and not the bad ones from pop culture. The only pet I’ve ever had was a beta fish and his full name was Prince Jequerity Charmont and Jeq for short. I think Jequerity was some tropical plant and is just a cool word. Prince Charmont is from Ella Enchanted & is one of the greatest male fictional characters EVER. *sigh* Prince Char…


  1. 1 Fictional character names for you baby? Yeah, why not! « Not Your Average Geek Trackback on April 12, 2010 at 6:51 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

