Return to Sweet Valley

A few days ago, my co-worker and I were talking about the recent returns to our old favorite series.  (Hi, Katie!)  We know about the prequel to the Baby-Sitters Club that’s just come out.  (Can’t wait to read it!)  Have you heard about the new book to come out next year called Sweet Valley Confidential??

*Sigh* Remember these?

The new book is supposed to take place 12 years after high school, so they’ll be in their late 20s/early 30s.  Just imagine all of the crazy stuff that could happen NOW!!!

But really, how much different do you think it can be?  In high school, they were already dealing with cheating boyfriends, cheating ON boyfriends, bad/annoying/murderous friends, pursuing dreams, etc etc.  I was a big fan of Sweet Valley when I was younger.  I read Sweet Valley Kids, Sweet Valley Twins, The Unicorn Club, Sweet Valley University, and of course, Sweet Valley High.  I even watched a few episodes of the tv show.  AND according to this article, there’s going to be a movie about SVH written & produced by Diablo Cody!!!  This. Is. Awesome.

When I was younger, my older sister and I used to write what I now know would be called fanfiction about the BSC.  One of the ideas for a story we came up with was a fastforward.  We planned out what they’d be doing in the future, who they’d be married to, how many kids they’d have, and what their names would be.  In case you’re wondering – Kristy is married to Bart, Mallory is married to — oh shoot I forget his name, the guy from Australia she had a crush on, Mary Anne and Logan…hmm, I think that’s all I remember.  I think at least a few of them married new people.  I’m pretty sure Mallory had a ton of kids because she likes a big family.  I guess I wasn’t too creative.  I wonder where that piece of paper is….

So, what do you guys think of the return to Sweet Valley?  Were you a fan?

- Jill

5 Responses to “Return to Sweet Valley”


  1. 1 Diana April 8, 2010 at 3:35 pm

    I was a fan of Sweet Valley Twins, but don’t think I ever read a Sweet Valley High book. I did watch the show sometimes, though. I’ll probably watch the movie when it comes out. Here’s another article about the film:

    http://popwatch.ew.com/2009/09/23/diablo-cody-sweet-valley-high-amazing/

    Diablo Cody (http://twitter.com/diablocody) recently tweeted:

    I just put Elizabeth Wakefield in a coma. Love playing “Sweet Valley God.”

    I started the BSC prequel a couple days ago and am really enjoying it. It’s bringing back so many good memories, and I realize there’s a lot of stuff that I’ve forgotten about this series.

  2. 2 ngtjennifer April 8, 2010 at 10:39 pm

    I also read Sweet Valley High and I loved the show when it was on tv!!! I was totally an Elizabeth!

  3. 3 Amber April 8, 2010 at 11:07 pm

    I like the idea of them creating new stories and ditching their previous attempt to update the classics–omigosh, remember how awkward the one we read was, Jill? It was like they just randomly threw in words like “youtube,” “mp3 player,” and “reality television” but kept all the dialogue and style the same—creating one weird disjointed setting….

    And I am super super excited for the movie now! How great would it be if it starred Mary Kate and Ashely?!

  4. 4 ngtjill April 9, 2010 at 7:23 am

    Amber, YES, I do remember! I’m blogging about this!

    Diana, I saw that tweet by Diablo Cody but it never clicked what it meant. Thanks! Sounds awesome. :)

    Jen, I was an Elizabeth too. It made me feel weird when she did stuff like cheat on Todd with Jessica’s boyfriend Sam. Did you read her Secret Diary #3?

  5. 5 ngtjennifer April 9, 2010 at 12:29 pm

    Oh man Jill, I am so old that I can’t remember any kind of specific plot from the book. I know that I didn’t like these books nearly as much as the BSC or R.L. Stine books, and maybe that is why.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

