BEDA Intro for Jill

Name:  Jill …and various nicknames including (in my family) Iowa Jill  :)

Age:  24

Where I live:  Des Plaines, IL — NW of Chicago

Where I call “home”:  a tiny town in southern IL.  I think Iowa City will always feel like home to me too.

Why I blog:  “It is a great way to stay in touch with my fellow nerdgirls.”  Ditto, Jen.

What part of BEDA I’m most excited about:  Hearing from my nerdgirls so frequently.  Sometimes we all get busy and don’t blog for awhile – except Jen, who’s fabulous at blogging a lot – so I’m excited to get to stay in touch and find out what they’re all up to when I don’t get to see them so often.

Why I’m doing BEDA:  “Because Lindsay is making me  :)”  Haha, ditto that too.  Lindsay, this is a great idea!  I’m loving it so far!

How I first discovered Maureen Johnson/BEDA:  Lindsay “introduced” me and said her books were fabulous.  Then I started following MJ on twitter.  Then she agreed to Skype with my library.  woo!

Something other BEDA people might not know about me:  One of my favorite things about living where I live is that I’m so close to O’Hare Airport.  I love seeing the planes coming in close for a landing or getting higher after take off.  It’s exciting.  :)

Another blog I follow:  jobonga!!!

A writer (of any kind) who inspires me
I’m very sorry to go with the obvious, but I’m picking Meg Cabot.  Reading PD #9 (Princess Mia) especially was therapeutic and inspirational.  And Allie Finkle #3 (Best Friends & Drama Queens) was therapeutic and inspirational for the 11-year-old in me who remembers the crappy friends I used to have.

A YouTube channel I love:  I don’t spend too much time on YouTube.  I’m not a big fan of watching videos on my computer.  BUT if I am watching a video on YouTube, it’s probably by the vlogbrothers.

A favorite quote:  “If you have built castles in the air, your work need not be lost; That is where they should be. Now put foundations under them.” – Henry David Thoreau, Walden

5 Responses to “BEDA Intro for Jill”


  1. 1 ngtlindsay April 3, 2010 at 8:56 pm

    I totally like watching planes take off and come in too!

  2. 2 ngtjennifer April 3, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    That is awesome that you are so close to the airplanes. I hope that you are close enough to see them, but not close enough to hear them.

  3. 3 Diana April 4, 2010 at 12:25 am

    Just finished Allie Finkle #3 today. It was a great read.

  4. 4 ngtjill April 4, 2010 at 2:02 am

    @Jen – I am close enough to hear them, but I typically don’t mind. Unless my balcony door is open and I’m trying to watch a Buffy episode. Then I get slightly annoyed and turn up the volume. :)

    @Diana – I’m glad you liked it! Allie Finkle #4 was really good too. I don’t remember what that one was, but I think I liked it just as much as #3.

  5. 5 Diana April 4, 2010 at 1:39 pm

    #4 is Stage Fright, about the play Allie’s class is putting on. I love all the kids in the book. Rosemary cracks me up.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

