A Review of Wild Child starring Emma Roberts which I named: I don’t know what I think about Wild Child starring Emma Roberts

Umm, how come she isn't wearing the bad blonde wig in the cover photo?

Ever heard of this movie? Me neither! until somehow I did and since I LOVE Emma Roberts (how adorable was she in Nancy Drew when she was hostess of that retro party? wait, just had a thought… am going to check IMDB, I’ll be right back….

YES I WAS RIGHT! the woman who played the murdered movie star in Nancy Drew is currently the mom of Chuck Bass (swoon) on Gossip Girl!!! Her name is Laura Harring. I think I will have to do a post on GG Season Three guest stars…

Anyways, so I put Wild Child on hold at the library and it took me THREE MONTHS to get it. Worth the wait? yeahhhh. I guess. I HAVE NO IDEA WHETHER I LIKED THIS MOVIE OR NOT WHICH IS DRIVING ME CRAZY! I mean it was pretty terrible, but also kinda awesome, but really pretty annoying…sort of how I felt about Leap Year, although sorry Jen, I would probably say that Wild Child was better…

Basically, Emma Roberts plays Poppy–a girl from Malibu who is sent to an English boarding school by her father in order to straighten up. You know, the whole crazy-american-girl-learns-to-be-a-woman-while-teaching-the-English-how-to-loosen-up plot? Totally What a Girl Wants, right?….except rated PG-13 with swearing, drinking, and sexual situations… WHaaa?! Who were they aiming this movie at? because theme-wise it is totally tween and those of us who like tween things, content-wise it is totally high school—> it felt like if the producers were making a movie out of iCarly but ended up with Mean Girls??? BIZARRE.

Here are scattered thoughts on Wild Child that I don’t feel like putting into cohesive paragraphs:

1. This was Natasha Richardson’s last movie. Sad.

2. First thing that made me happy about this movie? SLAGGY LINDSAY (from Angus, Thongs, and Perfect Snogging) IS IN IT! but she is not slaggy AT ALL–she is one of the kick-ass adorable british awesome friends!

Poppy and Slaggy Lindsay

ew not a fan of ridiculously cropped jackets... or bad blonde wigs on actresses to make them look more Malibu Bratty.

3. I spent the whole movie trying to figure out where I knew Drippy from… OMFG she was the girl who ruined James McAvoy’s life after he had that wonderful library love-making scene in Atonement NOoooooooooooooooooo. But she is so cute in this movie as she is also one of the kick-ass adorable british awesome friends–oh I am having very complex feelings.

4. Very funny line: “Someone call Al Gore, the ice queen is melting”

5. LOVE Poppy’s dress at the dance:

Actually I love ALL their outfits! sigh, I am in total dance party withdrawal...

6. Just as the movie gets to be cute and Poppy becomes likable and there is a fun dress-up scene, Poppy almost unknowingly causes Drippy to almost die in a fire???? um whoa, seriousness is not welcome.

7. So british boy is pretty dang charming, but I don’t know…I totally didn’t fall for him? Maybe I just need more time.. or maybe he just needs to be Scottish…OR you know what it is?! I think he should have fallen for one of the cute English girls–like Slaggy Lindsay! why didn’t he fall for Slaggy Lindsay?! She was nice and intelligent and fun the whole time–not just in the end like Poppy was.

Ohhh look! in this picture you can see how adorable the back of the dress was!

Ohhh look! in this picture you can see how adorable the back of the dress was!

8. I really really really want the yellow yorkie sweater that mean Harriet makes Poppy wear in public in order to humiliate her. I wouldn’t be humiliated AT ALL BECAUSE I LOVE IT.

Cute Wild Child Yorkie Sweater

This is the only picture I could find of the sweater--the recreated one is pretty close but looks screenprinted--Poppy's embroidered one (you can see part of it in the photo in the corner) is way more fantastic.

Overall–was it as good as Angus, Thongs and Perfect Snogging? Hahaha, silly question–OF COURSE NOT!

um, okay, enough said.
amber

8 Responses to “A Review of Wild Child starring Emma Roberts which I named: I don’t know what I think about Wild Child starring Emma Roberts”


  1. 1 ngtlindsay April 2, 2010 at 10:47 pm

    Ooooh, I saw part of this movie, but it was so bad I turned it off. Maybe I should give it another go. Because I do like Emma Roberts – totally agree about Nancy Drew! I loved that movie mostly because of Nancy’s wardrobe though. So cute!
    And Slaggy Lindsay…..hehehehehe. I always love when my name is used, good or bad. Slaggy….hehehehehehehehe.
    And What a Girl Wants is totally on the TV right now!

  2. 2 ngtjill April 3, 2010 at 12:01 am

    PLEASE do posts about Gossip Girl! I am having major withdrawals from not getting to watch it with you.

  3. 3 ngtjennifer April 3, 2010 at 8:52 pm

    Wow, I’ve never heard of this movie….but I did love Nancy Drew!!!!

  4. 4 Barbara Auguadro August 29, 2010 at 12:57 pm

    I’m hoping Amber will see this she wrote the original review here and wanted to know about the yorkie sweater in the movie. I made that sweater for the movie so if you are interested in one I custom make all of my sweater to order. If your interested in a Yorkie sweater please email me. barbara@custom-knits.com

    I thought the movie was cute but loved seeing my sweater in it.

    Barbara

  5. 5 ngtlindsay September 8, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    OMG THIS IS SO COOL! HI BARBARA! YOUR SWEATER IS AWESOME!

  6. 6 Amber September 8, 2010 at 1:33 pm

    Hi Barbara!!!!! Omigosh you just totally made my day!!!!! That sweater totally pops into my head at random times and automatically makes me smile (but also a little melancholy because I wanted one so bad)–IAMSOEXCITED! nowwww, hmmm, I really love yorkies, but maybe I should get a terrier one in honor of wishbone and Lester?

  7. 7 Pamela Sibbs April 15, 2012 at 2:54 pm

    i am crazy about Wild Child. I love the movie and i have watched it i dont know how many times.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

