Fictional Characters I Would Date: Part Eight

It has been a long time since I have done one of these, but I have been saving up for a good one….

Ned the Piemaker from “Pushing Daisies”

I only started watching “Pushing Daisies” last Monday, but I completely fell in love with it the moment I watched the first episode.  I whipped through the first season in three days just in time to watch the season premiere on Wednesday.  This show isn’t for everybody, but I think that everyone should give it a shot.  It’s like a cross between “Penelope” a Tim Burton movie and “CSI.”  The basic premise is this:  Ned can touch dead things and bring them back to life.  There are two little quirks to this gift.  The second time he touches something he has brought back to life, it dies again, and if he keeps someone alive for more than a minute, someone else has to die.  Oh, and he brought his childhood sweethear Chuck back to life and now they love each other, but can never touch.

So enough of that background mumbo-jumbo, here is why I would date Ned.

Ned is played by Lee Pace, who is really hot.  He has a very “British” look to him.  I don’t really know what that means, but that is the vibe I get when I look at him.  He has an extremely sexy voice.  His smile always looks just a little bit devilish.  Also, when his hair starts to grow out, he has a piece in the front that kind of looks like a toupee, and I find it really endearing.

He makes pies for a living, which is something that I could never master.  I love pie, but whenever I try to make one, something bad always happens (it’s always that dang crust part that I get wrong!).  I could be his official pie taste tester since he can’t taste the pies himself (he brings dead fruit back to life to use in the pies so it would just get all moldy again if he ate a piece).  And the best part…he named his restaurant The Pie Hole.

He’s a very inventive guy.  He can’t touch his dog Digby (because he also brought him back from the dead) so he has a special wooden arm thing that he uses to pet him.  The using dead fruit thing is also very smart because it saves money.  He also invented an ingenious contraption so that Chuck could sit in the front seat of the car with him with no fear of unwanted contact.

He can say things like “It’s not weird, it’s magical” without sounding corny or hokey.  And when he needs to create a diversion, he sets someone’s car on fire, which is pretty awesome.

Also, if I was dating Ned, first of all, he could actually touch me, so he wouldn’t be in so much agony all the time, secondly, I could pet Digby for him, and thirdly (is that a word?) I could totally steal all of Chuck’s really awesome dresses that look like they are from the fifties.

But wait, now that I am typing this I feel totally bad.  For the first time, I don’t want to steal Ned away from his fictional soulmate.  My heart is too happy watching Ned and Chuck be all cute together, so I think I will just admire him from afar and not even think about actually dating him.

Here is a video set to a very ironic Beatles tune (shout out to Amber!) that shows just how darn cute they are:

And here is another cute video where you can actually hear his voice, see Kristen Chenoweth (YEA!) and hear the wonderful Jim Dale narration from the show:

Jen

P.S.  The first season is like 18 bucks at Amazon!!!

7 Responses to “Fictional Characters I Would Date: Part Eight”


  1. 1 Abby October 6, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    I watched the first three episodes of PD while I was home. I like it better than I thought I would (and I agree that the feel of it is similar to Penelope, I totally had that thought as I was watching it). And I love Ned (I would totally date him, too!), but I find Chuck kind of annoying.

  2. 2 ngtjennifer October 6, 2008 at 5:50 pm

    I’m so glad you liked it! I think I am blinded by how adorable Chuck’s clothes are, but I can understand how you see her as annoying.

  3. 3 ngtamber October 6, 2008 at 7:04 pm

    omigosh, a penelope-like show?!!! I wanted to start watching this show anyway, but now it is a life or death situation.

  4. 4 Abby October 6, 2008 at 7:34 pm

    Chuck’s clothes are totally adorable!!

  5. 5 ngtjennifer October 6, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    It really is a life or death situation! I bet the IC library has it, so you could check it out from them and watch without buying.

  6. 6 Jill November 25, 2008 at 12:14 am

    I just watched the first episode, and I am in love with it and Ned! Good choice, Jen!

  7. 7 ngtjennifer November 25, 2008 at 7:48 am

    YEA!!! I am so sad that apparently it has been cancelled now, but the first season is AMAZING!! You’ll have to tell me how you like the rest of it.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

