Why I Love My Job…

Even though it is totally nerdy to blog about this, I can’t help myself. I had a real “librarian moment” today at work that made my whole week. This morning my co-worker and I went to one of the elementary schools and booktalked about 20 books for a gifted reading class of 3rd-5th graders. They were such a great audience because these kids truly love to read, but that wasn’t even the best part.

One of the books that I talked about is the amazingly awesome “Skulduggery Pleasant” by the incomparable Derek Landy. I don’t even have to mention how great it is because the cover pretty much says it all. Well, this afternoon while I was sitting at the desk, a boy came up to the desk right at 2:30 (they get out of school early on Wednesdays here which is totally unfair) and asked for this book! He was real shy but his Mom said he had heard the book talks this morning and was really excited about this book!

I actually got through to a kid, and not just any kid, a boy!!! The fact that my two minute book talk was powerful enough to make him race to the library to get the book makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. (I am going to assume it was all my amazing booktalking and had nothing to do with the kickass cover.)

Jen

5 Responses to “Why I Love My Job…”


  1. 1 Declan Burke May 29, 2008 at 10:58 am

    Hi Jen – Top class work, ma’am, and a terrific book … who knows, that shy kid might grow up to be a writer some day. Or maybe just less shy. Well done you. Cheers, Dec

  2. 2 Jill May 29, 2008 at 2:22 pm

    What a cool story! Yep, this is why I want to be a children’s/YA librarian. :)

  3. 3 Eric Jennings May 29, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    You’re such a rock star Jen. Congratulations!

    I once taught a class of high school students here in the library and they all wrote me thank you letters. One of these students wrote the following:

    “…This was the only field trip that I’ve been on where I actually learned something. You didn’t have to help us but you did…You truly encouraged me that I could be something in life just by showing that you care. Now I care more about my future because you care so much about mine. I could tell that you wanted everyone to pay attention to you while you were explaining things.”

    Even though we librarians may not get the accolades (or money) that a doctor does for saving someone’s life, the little things like getting through to someone about reading like you did are worth more than a few extra hundred bucks or an article on the front page of the paper in my opinion.

    Keep up the good work!

    (PS I tried to submit this once but it didn’t take…if I submitted this comment twice, please delete this one.)

  4. 4 ngtjennifer May 29, 2008 at 8:12 pm

    Awww, thanks guys! There are lots of rewarding moments like this that happen all the time, but sometimes I am too much of a grump to notice.

    I am super pumped because I am about ready to start reading “Skulduggery Pleasant: Playing With Fire” and I hope it is as good as the first!

  5. 5 Jill June 4, 2008 at 8:22 pm

    http://kidslit.menashalibrary.org/2008/06/skulduggery-wins.html

    You’re not the only one who thought that book was good!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

