Fictional Characters I Would Date: Part One

So I was perusing the internet today and found this feature on Entertainment Weekly where people talked about the fictional characters they would like to date……….and seeing as I have no actual prospects here on the outskirts of the Windy City I thought I might post my own thoughts on the matter. I was going to do a top five list, then it expanded to a top ten, but then I decided the best idea would be to make it a series of posts so that when I have nothing exciting to talk about (in other words most of the time) I can ramble on about how fictional guys are much more wonderful than actual ones (no offense meant to any real guys).

My first choice is pretty obvious to anyone that knows me………………..Drumroll please……….

Mr. Jim Halpert/Mr. Tim Canterbury from the U.S. and British versions of “The Office”

There really isn’t much explanation needed here for anyone who has ever seen either version of “The Office.” Jim Halpert just seems like the kind of guy who would make the perfect boyfriend. He’s laidback, charming, funny, sweet, knows his Harry Potter, has great hair, and the best facial expressions in the world………..and we found out in the deleted scenes from season two that he’s man enough to play with dolls while babysitting Toby’s daughter. The only bad thing about Mr. Halpert is that he can be downright cruel to women who aren’t named Pam Beesley. Oh well, if he wasn’t such a sucker for Pam he just wouldn’t be the same.

Now I watched the British Office after I was a huge fan of the Scranton gang, but I must say that I think I prefer Mr. Tim Canterbury to good ol’ Jim………..Tim does have quite a few things going for him………he’s got that amazing accent, he’s more of a teddy bear, and he’s a little bit more pathetic………now I don’t mean that in a bad way…………it’s just that with Jim, you can tell that he was the cool kid in school and he doesn’t really have trouble getting girls to like him (hello Katy the purse girl!), he just can’t get the girl he wants. Tim on the other hand always kind of looks like he needs a hug and he has to put up with a boss that is way worse than Michael Scott, but he manages to make it through each day by torturing Gareth and laughing with Dawn. But in the end, I think it is really the accent that pushes him over the edge. And also the fact that the last ten minutes of the UK Office Christmas Special are the most romantically heart-wrenching moments I have ever seen on film. Yes, I may be exagerating a wee bit, but every time I watch it, or even hear the song for that matter, I become like a leaky faucet. I would post that scene here, but it just doesn’t seem right to see it out of context, so I will leave you with this very adorable Tim nugget………..(did I mention that he’s cutely pathetic?)

Jen

5 Responses to “Fictional Characters I Would Date: Part One”


  1. 1 Jill March 4, 2008 at 11:53 pm

    Well, this is just one of the coolest series for a blog ever. I’m excited to see who might come next!

    And thanks for convincing me to watch the British version of The Office. I didn’t realize that British Jim is the guy from Love Actually and Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. AND British Pam is Lucy from Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip. Super exciting!

  2. 2 ngtamber March 5, 2008 at 11:09 am

    um, wow, did you notice that just yesterday I nominated you for the facebook superlative: most likely to fall in love with fictional characters???!!! that is freaky.

  3. 3 ngtjennifer March 5, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    Jill, I am always happy to push my favorite tv shows on others…….I must warn you that the first time I watched the UK Office it was almost painfully awkward. But I fell in love with Tim and Dawn and when I watched it the second time I loved every moment of it.

    And Amber, I totally hadn’t realized that, but that is uber-creepy!

  4. 4 Jill March 7, 2008 at 9:39 am

    I’ve watched a few episodes of the UK Office once, and you’re right, it was painfully awkward, but I think I’m going to give it another shot.

    And feel free to push your favorite tv shows on me. I’m on the prowl for new ones, since I finished Veronica Mars last week and am about to finish Studio 60 (both are fabulous, by the way).


  1. 1 Fictional Character loving again… « Not Your Average Geek Trackback on September 30, 2008 at 7:59 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

